Trying to use moca over existing home coax network
Rog_bunt

so I have a g3100 router and a e3200 extender. I pay for 1gbps speeds at my home. So the Verizon guy installs the router and connects the extender and tells me I can move the extender anywhere in the house or hook it up to coax and get faster lan speeds instead of using WiFi. I have never used or even heard of MoCa before this experience, but the idea of using existing home coax versus running Ethernet through my attic just sounds amazing, especially if I can still get that 1gbps anywhere there is a coax jack. I verified the router is connect with Ethernet and is also connect to a coax wall jack, also I verified with an Ethernet connection that the router is receiving 1gbps. So I take my extender and move it to the room next door, connect it to the coax jack and when I turn it on, it has a solid white light. I connect my computer to it via Ethernet and for some reason, I only get 300mbps. Also there is not a green light by the coax connector on the back of the extender. So I’m pretty sure the extender is just using WiFi to connect to the router to supply me 300mbps of internet. I feel like I may be miss understanding moca and how it works in a home. Is there a setting for the extender and router to use moca? Does moca mean I get gbps speeds at all of my coax jacks? Assuming I have a router that is connected to the coax network and is also receiving 1gbps internet speeds. How can I use my coax in my home to work with my extender and give me that 1gbps? Thank you for the help! 

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Trying to use moca over existing home coax network
Cang_Household
Community Leader
Community Leader