×

Switch Account

USB Port on Actiontec MI424 Rev E

USB Port on Actiontec MI424 Rev E

Reply
Copper Contributor joecct77
Copper Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-11-2009
Message 1 of 5
(5,830 Views)

There is a USB Port on my MI424 router.  Does it work and if so, what can I hook it up to and how do I do it (besides plugging the cable in)??

 

THANKS!!

4 REPLIES 4
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,153
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 2 of 5
(5,824 Views)

 

Just looked it up on the 9100OEM router and this is what it says

Connects the Router to peripheral devices (e.g. storage) via USB. Note: This
port may not be enabled in all UltraLine Series3 units.

 

Pretty useless bit of info! not sure why you would want to connect storage to a router unless there was some way to use it from the other network devices, kind of like NAS.

Maybe someone else has a clearer idea of what it's about

If it really does work like NAS could make a useful backup solution for all the machines on the local network.

 

Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 372
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 3 of 5
(5,804 Views)

@joecct77 wrote:

There is a USB Port on my MI424 router.  Does it work and if so, what can I hook it up to and how do I do it (besides plugging the cable in)??

 

THANKS!!



Last I heard, the usb port on the Verizon supplied routers are not active and may or may not be active in later verisions.


"If your problem has been solved, please mark it as such. Don't forget to hand out your Kudos!"
Bronze Contributor III
Bronze Contributor III
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎09-11-2009
Message 4 of 5
(5,786 Views)

The last router that Verizon supplied with an active USB port was in 1999 or 2000.  It is highly doubtful that they will be providing another anywhere in the near future. 



~~ "It's not a bug. It's an undocumented feature."
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009
Message 5 of 5
(5,783 Views)

USB port on all current Verizon routers are disabled. They do have power, so you can charge an Ipod or something but it has no data transmission capibilities at this time.




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.