×

Switch Account

Unable to reach ajax.aspnetcdn.com

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎11-19-2013

Unable to reach ajax.aspnetcdn.com

Message 1 of 14
(1,655 Views)

Specifically, I'm trying to pull up this file:

http://ajax.aspnetcdn.com/ajax/jQuery/jquery-1.7.2.min.js

 

And i can not reach that site. It looks as though it might be an issue due with the IP6 address since when i run a tracet on ajax.aspnetcdn.com it's using the IP6 address for that site and it goes absolutely no where.

 

If i run a tracert to the IP4 address for that site, it works. 

 

Does IP6 not work over the FiOS network? Or is there something on the router i need to change?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-31-2013

Re: Unable to reach ajax.aspnetcdn.com

Message 13 of 14
(728 Views)

I have no idea why there was a suggestion of adding a second router; that would do nothing to help the original poster's situation unless the second router is connected to a second ISP that offers IPv6, or it has a tunnel, but if that were the case, what's the point of keeping the first router?!  The fact of the matter is Fios sucks when it comes to IPv6 which is why here we are years after other ISP's have completely deployed it and they still offer nothing.

 

In any case, adding a second router will do nothing because if an IPv6-capable computer hears IPv6 router advertisements on its network interface, it's going to use SLAAC to give itself an IPv6 address (if one hasn't already been hard coded), and depending on the operating system and/or browser, will attempt to do DNS lookups for both A and AAAA  records when you try to get to a particular destination, if an AAAA is available, it may try to use IPv6 to reach said destination.

 

Since the OP needs IPv6 on his LAN segment, there are a few options:

 

1) Set up an IPv4-only proxy server on the LAN and point the computer's browser at that for non-local web requests.  Local requests, assuming there is a web server on the LAN, would still use v6, remote requests would hit the proxy server and since it is v4-only, would go out normally.  This solution of course is http/https/ftp specific and would not help if you need to make other types of remote connections, like ssh, rdp, etc.

 

2) Do what I did; get Verizon to activate the ethernet port on your PON and plug your own router into it, getting their Actiontec garbage out of the way.  Set the router up normally for IPv4 service; i.e. wan port uses dhcp from Fios, lan port(s) use whatever addressing scheme you desire.  Directly connect to the Actiontec garbage router, set it to use the ethernet wan port as its wan port instead of the coax, and set the coax to lan.  Plug the Actiontec ethernet wan port into your new lan segment.  This step is necessary if you want your Fios set top boxes to continue to be able to watch video on demand and get programming schedules and software updates since they use ip over the coax.  Now, the important step, get a free IPv6 allocation from Hurricane Electric's Tunnel Broker service at https://tunnelbroker.net/  Configure the router to do IPv6 tunneling using the steps they provide.  It's fairly easy if you use DD-WRT and most any common home router hardware.  Just please keep in mind that you need to set up firewall rules because you will be using publicly routable IPv6 on your LAN segment.

 

3) Add a second network card, create a separate network segment, whether physical or a VLAN if you have the appropriate switch hardware, put all the IPv6 devices on that segment and have no router.  Now you can talk IPv6 locally on your eth1 interface, and eth0, or whatever your operating system of choice calls the first network card, will be used for non-local traffic and will be v4-only.

 

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,480
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Unable to reach ajax.aspnetcdn.com

Message 2 of 14
(1,618 Views)

Verizon does not route IPv6 over the FiOS network, yet. I'm sure at a moment's notice they would be, though. Even older DSL gear is capable of IPv6 all things considered.

 

If your browser has a tendency to prefer IPv6, you may want to adjust it's settings to prefer IPv4 until you're on a connection with IPv6 support.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: Unable to reach ajax.aspnetcdn.com

Message 3 of 14
(1,605 Views)

@merk wrote:

Specifically, I'm trying to pull up this file:

http://ajax.aspnetcdn.com/ajax/jQuery/jquery-1.7.2.min.js

 

And i can not reach that site. It looks as though it might be an issue due with the IP6 address since when i run a tracet on ajax.aspnetcdn.com it's using the IP6 address for that site and it goes absolutely no where.

 

If i run a tracert to the IP4 address for that site, it works. 

 

Does IP6 not work over the FiOS network? Or is there something on the router i need to change?


I can download that file with no issue (except a warning that the certifcate can't be verified).

 

I can't think of why I can reach that site and you can't, but for whatever it's worth, I'm running IE11 under Win7 SP1, Microsoft Security Essentials, and an Actiontec Rev I router using Verizon's servers as primary DNS.

 

edit:

 

Here's what I see if I run a tracert to ajax.aspnetcdn.com:

 

C\Users\tracert ajax.aspnetcdn.com

Tracing route to cs1.wpc.v0cdn.net [93.184.215.200]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2     9 ms     6 ms     7 ms  L100.NYCMNY-VFTTP-119.verizon-gni.net [71.241.153.1]
  3    11 ms     9 ms    10 ms  G0-7-4-1.NYCMNY-LCR-21.verizon-gni.net [130.81.169.238]
  4     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  5    76 ms    46 ms    19 ms  0.so-1-0-1.XT1.NYC4.ALTER.NET [152.63.0.213]
  6     9 ms    12 ms    11 ms  TenGigE0-6-0-7.GW5.NYC4.ALTER.NET [152.63.17.146]
  7     8 ms     9 ms     9 ms  teliasonera-gw.customer.alter.net [152.179.163.178]
  8    26 ms    10 ms     9 ms  nyk-bb1-link.telia.net [213.155.130.246]
  9    11 ms     9 ms     9 ms  nyk-b2-link.telia.net [213.155.130.28]
 10    10 ms     9 ms    10 ms  edgecast-ic-156940-nyk-b2.c.telia.net [62.115.8.226]
 11    11 ms    12 ms    12 ms  93.184.215.200

Trace complete.

 

 

 

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎11-19-2013

Re: Unable to reach ajax.aspnetcdn.com

Message 4 of 14
(1,571 Views)

@eljefe wrote:

@merk wrote:

Specifically, I'm trying to pull up this file:

http://ajax.aspnetcdn.com/ajax/jQuery/jquery-1.7.2.min.js

 

And i can not reach that site. It looks as though it might be an issue due with the IP6 address since when i run a tracet on ajax.aspnetcdn.com it's using the IP6 address for that site and it goes absolutely no where.

 

If i run a tracert to the IP4 address for that site, it works. 

 

Does IP6 not work over the FiOS network? Or is there something on the router i need to change?


I can download that file with no issue (except a warning that the certifcate can't be verified).

 

I can't think of why I can reach that site and you can't, but for whatever it's worth, I'm running IE11 under Win7 SP1, Microsoft Security Essentials, and an Actiontec Rev I router using Verizon's servers as primary DNS.

 

edit:

 

Here's what I see if I run a tracert to ajax.aspnetcdn.com:

 

C\Users\tracert ajax.aspnetcdn.com

Tracing route to cs1.wpc.v0cdn.net [93.184.215.200]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2     9 ms     6 ms     7 ms  L100.NYCMNY-VFTTP-119.verizon-gni.net [71.241.153.1]
  3    11 ms     9 ms    10 ms  G0-7-4-1.NYCMNY-LCR-21.verizon-gni.net [130.81.169.238]
  4     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  5    76 ms    46 ms    19 ms  0.so-1-0-1.XT1.NYC4.ALTER.NET [152.63.0.213]
  6     9 ms    12 ms    11 ms  TenGigE0-6-0-7.GW5.NYC4.ALTER.NET [152.63.17.146]
  7     8 ms     9 ms     9 ms  teliasonera-gw.customer.alter.net [152.179.163.178]
  8    26 ms    10 ms     9 ms  nyk-bb1-link.telia.net [213.155.130.246]
  9    11 ms     9 ms     9 ms  nyk-b2-link.telia.net [213.155.130.28]
 10    10 ms     9 ms    10 ms  edgecast-ic-156940-nyk-b2.c.telia.net [62.115.8.226]
 11    11 ms    12 ms    12 ms  93.184.215.200

Trace complete.

 

 

 


Looks at the IP address when you run the trace - it's an IP4 address. When i run the trace it's an IP6 address

 

Is there some way to disable IP6 addresses for outside locations? i.e for WAN traffic - i need IP6 for LAN traffic

Highlighted
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: Unable to reach ajax.aspnetcdn.com

Message 5 of 14
(1,561 Views)

My Actiontec router's default settings at Advanced > IPv6  have IPv6 disabled.   I guess that's why I can access the site in question and you can't.

 

I've not yet had the need for IPv6 so I can't help with a way to disable WAN IPv6 while enabling IPv6 for LAN use.  Maybe someone else will jump in with an way to do it.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Unable to reach ajax.aspnetcdn.com

Message 6 of 14
(1,549 Views)

@eljefe wrote:

My Actiontec router's default settings at Advanced > IPv6  have IPv6 disabled.   I guess that's why I can access the site in question and you can't.

 

I've not yet had the need for IPv6 so I can't help with a way to disable WAN IPv6 while enabling IPv6 for LAN use.  Maybe someone else will jump in with an way to do it.


Wouldn't help if you had IPV6 enabled.  VERIZON FIOS service is not currently offereing IPV6 to residential customers.  Unclear if any FIOS Business customers have it yet.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Unable to reach ajax.aspnetcdn.com

Message 7 of 14
(1,541 Views)

I am pretty confident that you'll have to run a 2nd router with ipv6 on it, and that you won't be able to do it through the Actiontec until, as previously mentioned, Verizon enables it on their end.

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎11-19-2013

Re: Unable to reach ajax.aspnetcdn.com

Message 8 of 14
(1,508 Views)

i'm a bit confused by the last two responses. Is the lack of IP6 support due to the router verizon installs in my home? Or is it their entire network which does not support it?

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Unable to reach ajax.aspnetcdn.com

Message 9 of 14
(1,500 Views)

because of the routers in their network.   Google verizon fios ipv6 FAQ 

 

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: Unable to reach ajax.aspnetcdn.com

Message 10 of 14
(1,498 Views)

Those last two replies actually confused me too.

 

Pressing on, though, do you have IPv6 enabled on your Actiontec or not?  If so, you might try disabling it to see if that lets you connect to the website in question.

 

If that works, then Hubrisnsx' suggestion of a using second router, configured for IPv6 for your LAN, is probably what you'll need to do.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.