×

Switch Account

Unlocking the fios IP address??

Unlocking the fios IP address??

Reply
Contributor adeljason
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-06-2009
Message 1 of 5
(6,182 Views)

I used to live with my parents and they had fios.  My laptop was hooked up to their wirless network.  I recently moved to queens, and fios is not available, so i switched to time warner.  When they tried to hook up my laptop to the internet the IP address was locked.  It was locked by fios.  Does anyone know how to get rid of this lock?

 

Thanks,

Jason

4 REPLIES 4
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008
Message 2 of 5
(6,178 Views)
what do you mean locked? Like the external IP address? If thats what you are talking about then no, IP addresses are not like phone numbers. They dont transfer, just like phone numbers about 6 years ago. The IP block is given out in blocks to ISPs from the RIR "American Registry for Internet Numbers".
Message Edited by TimSykes on 04-06-2009 02:15 PM
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,757
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 3 of 5
(6,099 Views)
What software firewall is on your computer?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Contributor JLee
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-08-2009
Message 4 of 5
(6,067 Views)

there is no "lock" for an ip address.

 

if you are looking to establish a wireless connection to the current router, you have to find that wireless network in your list of wireless networks. if you have a manual ip address set in your wireless connection tcp/ip settings you have to change that to dhcp. the only "lock" that is involved with fios would be the WEP key which allows your laptop to connect to the fios wireless router but that's not a "lock" that's actually a "Key" which allows you to connect to a specific router. but it in no way hinders you from connecting to a different wireless router.

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 5
(6,041 Views)

I don't think FiOS can lock in an IP.  Perhaps you created a 'static' IP address on your laptop?

 

If you're running Windows XP, Click START, go to CONTROL PANEL and then NETWORK CONNECTIONS.  When the window opens, right click "Local Area Connection" and select 'properties'.

 

Now single click the TCP/IP line in the mini window and then click the properties button.

 

Make sure "Obtain IP address automatically" is selected and then click OK.  If the other selection was active, and an IP addy was listed, you were using a 'static' IP address.

 

You may want to re-start the computer if a change was made.

 

I am not familiar with the Vista OS, but would imagine the path is similar.

Message Edited by ucamuk on 04-08-2009 09:31 PM
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.