Updating Actiontec MI424WR Firmware

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-13-2009

Updating Actiontec MI424WR Firmware

Message 1 of 6
(15,930 Views)

I went to http://www2.verizon.net/micro/actiontec/actiontec.asp and downloaded the file. I saved it to my desktop then went to 192.168.1.1 on my browser. I went to update firmware, and selected the file, and pressed okay. It then said the file was not compatible.

 

I need this update so I could use Xbox Live. Does anyone know what I should do now? 

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎05-01-2009

Re: Updating Actiontec MI424WR Firmware

Message 2 of 6
(15,878 Views)

What revision of the actiontec do you have ?

 

This was only for the revisions below E.

 

The currect Firmware for E is 20.9.0

 

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.
Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008

Re: Updating Actiontec MI424WR Firmware

Message 3 of 6
(15,874 Views)

You should be able to use xbox live with any of our routers.  The routers also have a auto-update feature so you would never need to load your own firmware and risk bricking the router. What issues are you having regrarding xbox live? Are you trying to connect wirelessly? All other services work but just xbox live? Has it worked before in the past? You refered you to the router firmware site?

-CharlesH

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-13-2009

Re: Updating Actiontec MI424WR Firmware

Message 4 of 6
(15,840 Views)

I am trying to connect wirelessly. I do use my Wii and my DS wirelessly from my Verizon connection and they work fine. Xbox Live does find my connection, then I enter my WEP Key. Then it says "Cannot use static IP address for this hardware." Xbox Live has not worked in the past.

Highlighted
Trivia Champ
Trivia Champ
Posts: 6,013
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Updating Actiontec MI424WR Firmware

Message 5 of 6
(15,829 Views)

#1 In the router go to Advanced -> IP Address Distribution.

 

#2 What is the DHCP range?

 

#3 Does your Xbox connect wirelessly directly to the Actiontec MI424WR?

 

b) OR it does it connect to a game adapter?

 

#3 I know that you want to secure your wireless network. If the router is set to wide open, can you get the Xbox to connect wirelessly?

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008

Re: Updating Actiontec MI424WR Firmware

Message 6 of 6
(15,829 Views)

Are you able to test wired? Trying changing to WPA and see if that works any better.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.