Upgrade to MI424WR Router Rev I - Can I import the configuration settings from my Rev E?

Reply
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-12-2012

Upgrade to MI424WR Router Rev I - Can I import the configuration settings from my Rev E?

Message 1 of 8
(2,730 Views)

I am using an old  Actiontech Rev E router and I saved the configuration information in a external file.  I recently got the MI424WR Router Rev I.

 

Can the new Rev I router import and use the configuration file that I created from the Rev E?

 

 

A related question about encription protocols and speed.

 

I have a mix of G and N devices at home.  What is the best encription protocol to use wrt getting the highest speed?

and how is that set up in the router? eg. and config tricks that one should know about?

 

 

Ty!

 

-John

 

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: Upgrade to MI424WR Router Rev I - Can I import the configuration settings from my Rev E?

Message 2 of 8
(2,716 Views)

I don't know if the configuration files are compatible, but it won't hurt to try.  If there is a problem, reboot the router and make your changes manually.

 

With a mix of G and N devices, you need to use Compatibility Mode (802.11 b/g/n.) 

For best security use WPA2.

 

Those should be the default modes, but you can check them under Wireless Settings > Wireless Status.

Changes, if needed, are made under Wireless Settings > Advanced Security Settings.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Upgrade to MI424WR Router Rev I - Can I import the configuration settings from my Rev E?

Message 3 of 8
(2,685 Views)

@three_jeeps wrote:

Can the new Rev I router import and use the configuration file that I created from the Rev E?


 

Not possible.  The files are encrypted and also tied to the specific router.

 

 

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-12-2012

Re: Upgrade to MI424WR Router Rev I - Can I import the configuration settings from my Rev E?

Message 4 of 8
(2,667 Views)

Crap!......thank you!

 

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-12-2012

Re: Upgrade to MI424WR Router Rev I - Can I import the configuration settings from my Rev E?

Message 5 of 8
(2,618 Views)

@Anti-Phish wrote:

@three_jeeps wrote:

Can the new Rev I router import and use the configuration file that I created from the Rev E?


 

Not possible.  The files are encrypted and also tied to the specific router.

 

 


 

Just as a follow-up...I saved config file from my Rev E and tried to import it into my Rev I...and you are correct, encrypted-but at least it is printable ASCII text, lol. - It is NOT possible to import from one router to another.

 

What a pain......so much extra work....grrrrrrrr 

[flame_on]

Another stupid design decision to go with the convoluted/badly designed web UI for the router.

[/flame_off]

 

 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,547
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Upgrade to MI424WR Router Rev I - Can I import the configuration settings from my Rev E?

Message 6 of 8
(2,597 Views)

Verizon started encrypting the configuratioin files around the time the Gen2 and the Gen3 routers started to become a thing. They all use different hardware, so crossing around configuration files could potentially cause more trouble than it's worth. Second, folks have been known to turn their router into a brick from editing the config file directly 🙂

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-12-2012

Re: Upgrade to MI424WR Router Rev I - Can I import the configuration settings from my Rev E?

Message 7 of 8
(2,570 Views)

@Smith6612 wrote:

Verizon started encrypting the configuratioin files around the time the Gen2 and the Gen3 routers started to become a thing. They all use different hardware, so crossing around configuration files could potentially cause more trouble than it's worth. Second, folks have been known to turn their router into a brick from editing the config file directly 🙂


Thank you for the info.I would say that tying the config file tightly to the hardware is another bad design decision. If done correctly, the encoding of the data and the subsequent mapping/translating to target hardware should be straight forward. I have done this type of thing for many systems, from platforms with different embedded controllers in auto and avionics system, to larger mini/micro computer platforms running plant wide control systems. If they need to be shown how to do this, I'll be happy to consult 😉 If ppl are stupid enough to try and modify config files without understanding the processor/I-O interfaces/data formats, then they get what they deserve....Not my problem that they brick their router. Sorry to be so blunt, but ppls stupidity should not cause me (and the vast majority of other users) to spend lots of my time reconfiguring a router.
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,547
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Upgrade to MI424WR Router Rev I - Can I import the configuration settings from my Rev E?

Message 8 of 8
(2,461 Views)

@three_jeeps wrote:

@Smith6612 wrote:

Verizon started encrypting the configuratioin files around the time the Gen2 and the Gen3 routers started to become a thing. They all use different hardware, so crossing around configuration files could potentially cause more trouble than it's worth. Second, folks have been known to turn their router into a brick from editing the config file directly 🙂


Thank you for the info.I would say that tying the config file tightly to the hardware is another bad design decision. If done correctly, the encoding of the data and the subsequent mapping/translating to target hardware should be straight forward. I have done this type of thing for many systems, from platforms with different embedded controllers in auto and avionics system, to larger mini/micro computer platforms running plant wide control systems. If they need to be shown how to do this, I'll be happy to consult 😉 If ppl are stupid enough to try and modify config files without understanding the processor/I-O interfaces/data formats, then they get what they deserve....Not my problem that they brick their router. Sorry to be so blunt, but ppls stupidity should not cause me (and the vast majority of other users) to spend lots of my time reconfiguring a router.

I hear you there. The firmware has always left something to be desired. Never feels polished, usually feels like a beta.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.