quick menu

Using My Asus RT-NT56U with G-1100 router

Using My Asus RT-NT56U with G-1100 router

Reply
Copper Contributor Bassman1
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-07-2018
Message 1 of 14
(570 Views)

Okay Forum....I give up! I'm trying to get my Asus router to work along with the Verizon router. I've searched the Net and forums for the steps in doing this. Nothing has worked for me. Maybe I'm not doing the steps accurately. Could someone please take me through the steps to solve my problem?? Appreciate any help!!

13 REPLIES
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 3,820
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 2 of 14
(550 Views)

It’s very simple. First off you need to be internet only. And not on MOCA (coaxial) but on ethernet.

 

its ethernet from the ONT, to the WAN port on the Verizon router, then it’s ethernet from the Verizon routers LAN port to the WAN port of the Asus. The Asus must be in access point/bridge mode. You then should have the Asus available for faster or stable WiFi and it will also assign ip addresses. The Verizon router will only receive dhcp connection to the net.

 

thats it.

 

now you didn’t say if you have tv. If you do you get a MOCA adapter and a splitter to get access to video on demand and program guide.

 

Copper Contributor Bassman1
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-07-2018
Message 3 of 14
(530 Views)

Sorry for leaving that info out. Yes, I have TV and Phone. I guess the main issue, is, I can't seem to access Asus router page. When I put in 192.168.1.1, FiOS router page comes up. Should I be using my laptop to access Asus router page, then set it up? I'm assuming as an access point? If this is correct, what would be the proper cabling configuration? This seems to be where I have issues! Thanks.

Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 3,820
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 4 of 14
(506 Views)

Follow the guidelines here:

 

 

https://www.dslreports.com/faq/verizonfios?

 

 

Bronze Contributor II Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 553
Registered: ‎06-24-2018
Message 5 of 14
(486 Views)

One of the biggest reasons I find on here is that people’s router and tbe FiOS router have same IP address 192.168.1.1. I’ll add a link to another page of someone I helped. 

I’m assuming your configuration is ONT >ethernet to your Asus>LAN of Asus to FiOS router WAN. And make sure your the coax is connected to FiOS router. 

 

https://forums.verizon.com/t5/Fios-TV-Technical-Assistance/Using-a-Nighthawk-XR-500-router-with-Veri...

 

Copper Contributor Bassman1
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-07-2018
Message 6 of 14
(510 Views)

Hello again, Forum. Well, it seems all of my devices are working, but, my wireless router isn't listed in my connected devices. Unless it's being referred to as something else. I also can't access the Asus' GUI. Before I had FIOS, I could access Asus router at 192.168.1.1, which is the G-1100 page, now. I have no idea how to rectify this situation. Let me clarify, I have Verizon Triple Play. All wireless networks appear in available connections list (Asus 2.4G, Asus 5.0G & FiOS 2.4G, FiOS 5G). And all connections are working. I hope someone can help me out with this. Maybe it's just something I'm not doing correctly or understanding.

Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 3,820
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 7 of 14
(489 Views)

Try this

 

http://router.asus.com

 

The issue is once the routers former address was taken by the Fios router you can login via the above link. You still need to know your password and no one here can help you with that.

 

you can change the routers IP address to like 192.168.x.1

the x can be a number you assign to access the router. But personally it is easier to you and the internet gods to just use the internet url to access it.

 

Copper Contributor Bassman1
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-07-2018
Message 8 of 14
(467 Views)

The link:  http://router.asus.com, no longer works.  Any alternative suggestions??

Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 3,820
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 9 of 14
(464 Views)

@Bassman1 wrote:

The link:  http://router.asus.com, no longer works.  Any alternative suggestions??


When the Asus is in accesspoint mode you can access the Verizon router and after logging in you can see your network devices. It will show an IP address for the Asus.

write it down. After that go to your web browser and type in the address listed for it.

you then should have access to the Asus router.

 

many times the accesspoint will change address of the ip. So it may differ from the last login 

Bronze Contributor II Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 553
Registered: ‎06-24-2018
Message 10 of 14
(434 Views)

@Bassman1 wrote:

The link:  http://router.asus.com, no longer works.  Any alternative suggestions??

Couple questions?

It the G1100 or Asus primary?
Can you hard reset both routers and go ONT>Asus>G1100? Change G1100 IP to 192.168.2.1. Then reboot STBs. Should work after that. I’ll sent a link from another thread with instructions to change G1100 IP address. 

 

https://forums.verizon.com/t5/Fios-TV-Technical-Assistance/Using-a-Nighthawk-XR-500-router-with-Veri...

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
My Fios App

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
 

My Verizon

  • Add or Change Plan
  • Suspend My Service
  • Apps

Support

Watch Fios