quick menu

Using My Own Router Confusion

Using My Own Router Confusion

Reply
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎04-06-2009
Message 1 of 6
(585 Views)

Hello all,

 

I have read all the posts on using your own router but seem to be missing something. I can get TV service from mySTB but I do not get guide information. My setup is as follows:

 

1) Ethernet from ONT to my Orbi router

2) Coax from ONT to splitter. STB to the splitter. Quantum router(coax) to the splitter.

3) Ethernet connection from WAN port of the Quantum router to the LAN port of the Orbi router.

4) Quantum router setup to pull a DHCP address from Orbi(DHCP server).

 

Is it ok for the WAN port of the Quantum router to get a DHCP address from my Orbi, or should I hard code the WAN port to an IP address that is not under DHCP control?

 

5 REPLIES 5
Platinum Contributor II Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 7,474
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 2 of 6
(570 Views)

Read the thread on using your own router.

There are specific ports that need to be opened to support guide data and on demand.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,509
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 3 of 6
(552 Views)

https://www.dslreports.com/faq/verizonfios?

 

Section 3 will show you how to do different installs. In essence you have the ONT-YOUR ROUTER-MOCA ADAPTER-SPLITTER (your situation may vary) but its harder reading about it than actually doing it.

 

 

Copper Contributor forumuser123
Copper Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-29-2019
Highlighted
Contributor fiosuser219
Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-29-2019
Message 5 of 6
(459 Views)

I found this more helpful than https://www.dslreports.com/faq/verizonfios

Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,509
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 6 of 6
(435 Views)

If you found the link for the forum post better?  Go back and read it again.

it mentions https://www.dslreports.com/faq/verizonfios to where to get that info.

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.



Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
 

My Verizon

  • Add or Change Plan
  • Suspend My Service
  • Apps

Support

Watch Fios