×

Switch Account

Using a splitter

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-09-2013

Using a splitter

Message 1 of 4
(863 Views)

Hello,

 

I would like to move the Verizon router downstairs next to the TV so I can connect my XBOX via a network cable to maximize the Internet speed for it. If I connect a splitter to the coax coming in and then a coax to the Motorola STB and XBOX, would that have a negative impact on anything?

 

Thanks!

3 REPLIES 3
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-09-2013

Re: Using a splitter

Message 2 of 4
(856 Views)

I meant coax to the STB and router, not XBOX.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,416
Registered: ‎04-10-2012

Re: Using a splitter

Message 3 of 4
(832 Views)

@cdiaz1069 wrote:

... I would like to move the Verizon router downstairs next to the TV so I can connect my XBOX ... If I connect a splitter to the coax coming in and then a coax to the Motorola STB and XBOX [sic], would that have a negative impact on anything? 

 

Added: I meant coax to the STB and router, not XBOX.


It will work.  Just be sure your splitter meets the specifications for FiOS network components.  I cannot quote chapter-and-verse just now but it's something like "passive bi-directional splitter rated 5-1000Mhz" or similar.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,412
Registered: ‎05-16-2009

Re: Using a splitter

Message 4 of 4
(812 Views)

Found this post for you.

 

Re: COAX wire and a splitter to hook up FIOS

‎06-23-2009 01:01 PM

Re: splitters

 

A few of thoughts:

 1) as spacedebrismark said, the splitter needs to be bi-directional because the STBs need to talk back to the router. Any splitter(s) also should cover the frequency range from 5 MHz to 1000 MHz. The splitters that Verizon uses, at least the ones I have gotten, are made by PDI and are called "Mega Splitters."

 2) You want as few splitters in your network as posssible, and you want as few splits on the splitter you get as you need (ie, don't get a 6-way splitter when a 2-way  or 3-way or whatever will meet your needs). And if you do get a splitter with more outputs than you need, I have seen recommendations to get terminators to put on the unused outputs (I don't know if that is really necessary or not).

 3) If you see a Verizon truck in your neighborhood you might ask the tech if he will give you one. I have had success with that, and I have also gone to the local Verizon store and asked and they gave me one. Never hurts to ask, you might save 

Hope this helps.

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.2, Build 08.58
Keller, TX76248 

 

Hope this helps.

Tom
QIP 7100 1,YAMAHA ATS 1080,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.