Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

Using two routers on the same FIOS connection via coax

Reply
HelpVerizonHelp
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-12-2015

Using two routers on the same FIOS connection via coax

Message 1 of 5
(5,104 Views)

My goal is to set up a wireless Access Point in my guest room so that I can give visitors both a stronger connection to my wireless and also so I don't have to give them my password. I have 50/50 Fios with an ActionTec (MI424WR) router which does not have guest access but have read in other posts on this forum that I can set up a separate AP by connecting a second router to my existing router using a LAN to LAN connection. Since I'm already set up with a coax outlet in the guest room however, I would greatly prefer to use my existing coax hookups to connect a second router. This will save a great deal of wiring and will look better cosmetically. I can use a splitter to send the coax from my Network Interface Device to both my current router and a second router in the guest room, but before I do so I wanted to make sure that I'm headed down the right path. A few questions:

 

  1. The following post suggests that this is possible: https://forums.verizon.com/t5/Fios-Internet/Using-two-routers-for-the-same-SSID/td-p/611200 but the use case is a bit different. Are there any challenges associated with connecting 2 routers to the same Network Interface Device?
  2. I have several routers sitting around that I could use for the guest room AP. Is there any one that I you would recommend using over the others? Options are A) Asus RT-N10P Wireless N Router, B) Motorola WR850G 518568-001-00, C) Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Router WNDR3400, and D) Vonage D-Link VWR-VD
  3. How do I set up the secondary router as an AP? i.e. do I need to reset the primary router?

 

Thank you in advance for your help!

4 REPLIES 4
eljefe
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: Using two routers on the same FIOS connection via coax

Message 2 of 5
(5,086 Views)

You might take a look at the Actiontec WCB3000N range extender.  It's coax fed and is pretty simple to configure.

 

https://www.verizon.com/home/fios-accessories/fios-network-extender/

 

Or if you prefer to use one of your existing routers as a WiFi AP, you could feed it from your coax outlet using an Actiontec ECB2500 adapter:

 

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001XUQOHE/ref=pd_lpo_sbs_dp_ss_1?pf_rd_p=1944687722&pf_rd_s=lpo-to...

 

If you choose to use a router as an AP you'll need to invesitage how to configure that specific model as an AP with its own instructions.

 

 

HelpVerizonHelp
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-12-2015

Re: Using two routers on the same FIOS connection via coax

Message 3 of 5
(5,079 Views)

The reviews for the Actiontec Ethernet over Coax Adapter on Amazon are great so I'll go that route. It seems like this works for both internet and Set Top Boxes. I'll purchase the Adapter and post again if it works out for me. Thank you very much for your help!

eljefe
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: Using two routers on the same FIOS connection via coax

Message 4 of 5
(5,067 Views)

I was using a WCB3000n for a while and had good results with it. 

 

Good luck to you and please do let us know how things work out for you.

JustinG
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 404
Registered: ‎07-29-2015

Re: Using two routers on the same FIOS connection via coax

Message 5 of 5
(4,992 Views)

Something else I would like to add to this, is that you can also use another Actiontec router as a MoCA bridge. This route can be a bit cheaper if you have a spare Aciontec laying around or know someone who does Smiley Wink

 

DSL Reports did I good write-up on how to use a 2nd actiontec as a bridge over coax: http://www.dslreports.com/faq/15984

(See section 2).

 

I have this setup in my house to connect a raspberry pi as a media center.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title