×

Switch Account

VERIZON FIOS ROUTER LOGIN PROBLEM

VERIZON FIOS ROUTER LOGIN PROBLEM

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor JXZ
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-29-2013
Message 1 of 11
(23,576 Views)

WHEN I TRY TO LOG INTO THE VERIZON FIOS ROUTER WITH EITHER SAFARI OR FIREFOX, THE WEBPAGE EITHER AUTOMATICALLY ADDS OR REMOVES CHARACTERS FROM THE PASSWORD FIELD. WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE VERIZON FIOS ROUTER LOGIN WEBPAGE AND HOW DO I FIX IT?

10 REPLIES 10
Highlighted
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
Message 2 of 11
(23,560 Views)

That is a security feature.  Ignore the extra characters when you enter your password.  If username and password you entered are correct, you will be able to login.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
Message 3 of 11
(23,558 Views)

You may wish to try some of the solutions. The search feature here can be your friend. You may find your solution faster than waiting for an answer. Newer routers have the user name and password on the bottom of the router, admin and ***** what ever your password is. The older routers were set to admin and password or password1. Verizon found the password or password1 were not secure, so they changed everyone's password to the serial number. Now as stated, it can be found on the bottom of the newest routers. When you type the password, ignore the extra characters, and just type in the password.

 

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/forums/searchpage/tab/message?filter=labels%2Clocation&location=forum-b...

Highlighted
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,416
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 4 of 11
(23,514 Views)

@JXZ wrote:

WHEN I TRY TO LOG INTO THE VERIZON FIOS ROUTER WITH EITHER SAFARI OR FIREFOX, THE WEBPAGE EITHER AUTOMATICALLY ADDS OR REMOVES CHARACTERS FROM THE PASSWORD FIELD. WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE VERIZON FIOS ROUTER LOGIN WEBPAGE AND HOW DO I FIX IT?


That's just how it works.  Good luck.

Highlighted
Contributor JXZ
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-29-2013
Message 5 of 11
(23,145 Views)

It is not a security feature, and it does not work. This is unbelievable that Verizon makes such a crappy router.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 6 of 11
(23,137 Views)

@JXZ wrote:

It is not a security feature, and it does not work. This is unbelievable that Verizon makes such a crappy router.


You are wrong.

 

Yes it is a (stupid maybe, useless probably) security feature, and yes it does work. I have never, ever had a problem logging into my router as long as I enter the correct information. I am sure you are entering the wrong login name and/or password, but of course I have no way to prove that, you will just have to ignore the display and figure it out for yourself. Or you can press and hold the reset button on the back of the router to set it back to factory defaults.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9.1
Keller, TX 76248 (VHO 1)

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
Message 7 of 11
(23,097 Views)

I agree with Justin. Reset your router. It may be that somehow your router password was changed from the defaults, or a webpage script hacked your router and changed it for you. #1 reason they stopped using password and password1 as defaults. People would not change the passwords from the default, and everyone on the web knew that. I am not a good programmer, and far from it, but I could right a nice script that would execute code on your PC and change your password if I knew what your current password was, and I could fool you into executing the script by clicking on the link in perhaps an Email, or on a web page. Real easy to write code to execute key strokes, and even to provide remote access to the users router and or network. Thus Verizon improved on the security and just used the serial numbers, and later added a sticker with the new information for wirless. The extra characters are there in case someone is looking over your shoulder, and they can't tell your password length for one. But I am sure there are other reasons too. Passwords are important!

 

I am not a huge fan of In Home Agent, but it can do many things. I believe one of them is reset your router password from your local network, or help diagnose router issues.

http://www22.verizon.com/support/residential/inhomeagent/125513.htm?cmp=emc-cons09008

Highlighted
Copper Contributor Tearuup
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
Message 8 of 11
(22,720 Views)

Don't look at it and just type your password.   It will work.  It is a security feature built in.  If you erase the other "**" then you will not log in.

Highlighted
Contributor Icandozat
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-18-2014
Message 9 of 11
(11,153 Views)

just type the password like normal, It's upposed to show more characters, it is a security feature. You sould still be able to log in even if it adds more characters

Highlighted
Contributor ps1734
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-11-2014
Message 10 of 11
(8,332 Views)

forgot my verizon fios router login/pwd; pl help.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.