Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

VPN Access Not Working

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-15-2015

VPN Access Not Working

Message 1 of 6
(1,813 Views)

Hi Guys,

 

I have FIOS internet service with the FiOS Quantum router (G1100). The router is connected via Ethernet to theONT (inside of an apartment).

 

The issue is that the my work’s Cisco VPN access does not work. If I use any other wifi access point (starbucks,

neighbor's)  then the VPN works fine. I have tried connecting the laptop directly to the router, same issue. I’ve put the router in DMZ mode and opened all possible VPN ports.

 

Any solutions?

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,153
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: VPN Access Not Working

Message 2 of 6
(1,811 Views)

@Yumms wrote:

Hi Guys,

 

I have FIOS internet service with the FiOS Quantum router (G1100). The router is connected via Ethernet to theONT (inside of an apartment).

 

The issue is that the my work’s Cisco VPN access does not work. If I use any other wifi access point (starbucks,

neighbor's)  then the VPN works fine. I have tried connecting the laptop directly to the router, same issue. I’ve put the router in DMZ mode and opened all possible VPN ports.

 

Any solutions?


Not sure I understand what you mean by putting the router in DMZ mode.  Do you really mean you put the IP address of your laptop in DMZ mode?

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-15-2015

Re: VPN Access Not Working

Message 3 of 6
(1,803 Views)

@viafax999 wrote:

@Yumms wrote:

Hi Guys,

 

I have FIOS internet service with the FiOS Quantum router (G1100). The router is connected via Ethernet to theONT (inside of an apartment).

 

The issue is that the my work’s Cisco VPN access does not work. If I use any other wifi access point (starbucks,

neighbor's)  then the VPN works fine. I have tried connecting the laptop directly to the router, same issue. I’ve put the router in DMZ mode and opened all possible VPN ports.

 

Any solutions?


Not sure I understand what you mean by putting the router in DMZ mode.  Do you really mean you put the IP address of your laptop in DMZ mode?

 


Yes.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,547
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: VPN Access Not Working

Message 4 of 6
(1,732 Views)

@Yumms wrote:

Hi Guys,

 

I have FIOS internet service with the FiOS Quantum router (G1100). The router is connected via Ethernet to theONT (inside of an apartment).

 

The issue is that the my work’s Cisco VPN access does not work. If I use any other wifi access point (starbucks,

neighbor's)  then the VPN works fine. I have tried connecting the laptop directly to the router, same issue. I’ve put the router in DMZ mode and opened all possible VPN ports.

 

Any solutions?


Just to clarify - is this the IPSec-based "Cisco VPN Client" with the padlock icon, or is this the "Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility Client" software we're working with? Totally different beasts in terms of reliability and how they connect.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-15-2015

Re: VPN Access Not Working

Message 5 of 6
(1,711 Views)

Hello,

 

This is a IPSec-based Cisco client, it has a yellow padlock icon.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,547
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: VPN Access Not Working

Message 6 of 6
(1,629 Views)

So what may be happening here is the VPN traffic may not be able to pass due to the Gateway having IPSEC ALG enabled, or a broken implementation of it. I've never used the G1100 gateway (not a FiOS) user, but if the options have been added into the gateway with a recent firmware upgrade, try to either enable or disable the IPSEC ALG feature.

 

On that client, there should also be the ability to change the client from using UDP for transport to Tcp for transport. Many firewalls and gateways that have firmware bugs will often work better if you use TCP. Ask your IT department about these settings and see if they help.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.