×

Switch Account

VPNFilter malware protection for FiOS routers

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,994
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Russian VPNFilter Malware

Message 21 of 41
(4,676 Views)

@gailq wrote:

The FBI recently issued a security notice warning that all home and small office routers should be rebooted after Cisco’s Talon groupdiscovered sophisticated Russian-linked “VPNFilter” malware infecting at least 500,000 networking devices.

 

They also suggested a factory reset of the router and loading new firmware. Does Verizon FIOS have any guidelines on how to do that on the various Routers they provide with their service? II have a a Router supplied to support the Quantum service


Simply unplug it and plug it back in to refresh it. To factory reset take a pen or paperclip and insert in reset hole on back of router.

 

firmware updates can not be done via customers on Verizon routers. Only Verizon can do that. 

 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,851
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Russian VPNFilter Malware

Message 22 of 41
(4,566 Views)

A person in our IT security department at work has Quantum router.

He agreed with me that there haven't been any reports that the Greenwave router was compromised.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

VPNFilter vulnerability

Message 23 of 41
(4,295 Views)

Fortunately, at the bottom of this site where routers vulnerable to the VPN filter are lised, Actiontec routers do not appear.

 

https://blog.talosintelligence.com/2018/05/VPNFilter.html

 

That said, I am familiar with the basics of accessing and changing settings on my Actiontec M1424WR Rev I GigE, but at the same time I realize that a little knowledge is a dangerous thing and undestand that I could really foul things up if I toyed with the wrong settings.

 

Would anyone be willing and able to offer suggestions on settings I might change on this particular router in order to better enhance my security?

 

Many thanks.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-31-2018

Re: Are Actiontec Routers Infected by Malware

Message 24 of 41
(4,286 Views)

Hi,

I reset my Quantum Gateway router with the red button on the back, made sure auto refresh was turned on and changed the original issued PW to a new one. Sgould I power cycle it just to be safe? Will the PW change prevent the firmware updates that Verizon pushes out to their routers since Verizon does not know the PW now??

Thanks.

Susan

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,994
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Are Actiontec Routers Infected by Malware

Message 25 of 41
(4,268 Views)

@suzontravel wrote:

Hi,

I reset my Quantum Gateway router with the red button on the back, made sure auto refresh was turned on and changed the original issued PW to a new one. Sgould I power cycle it just to be safe? Will the PW change prevent the firmware updates that Verizon pushes out to their routers since Verizon does not know the PW now??

Thanks.

Susan


Nope the password change will not affect any Verizon firmware updates.

Since it was reset no need to unplug etc. 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-23-2010

VPN Filter malware

Message 26 of 41
(4,001 Views)

Are the Verizon routers / set top boxes suseptable to VPN Filter Malware?

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,994
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: VPN Filter malware

Message 27 of 41
(3,967 Views)

@dfranzo wrote:

Are the Verizon routers / set top boxes suseptable to VPN Filter Malware?


No someone here in another thread had a list and neither Fios Quantum Gateway Router or the Actiontec are listed.

 

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-31-2018

Re: VPN Filter malware

Message 28 of 41
(3,880 Views)

I'm not so sure that list was definitive...it'll probably grow.  Or someone will fork the malware into something that can exploit VZ routers.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-01-2018

Re: Are Actiontec Routers Infected by Malware

Message 29 of 41
(3,675 Views)
I want to change the password on my Verizon Quantum Gateway router. But when I go to myfiosgateway.com to login to do this, my browser warns me that the connection is not secure, and that credentials entered on the page could be compromised. And there is a red slash thru a the padlock in the address bar. The page is this: http://myfiosgateway.com/#/setup Has anyone else encountered this? Is there other way to access the router? I already unplugged and replugged in; I guess I will also do a reset with the power button. But I don't know how to check if auto-refresh is turned on - I guess I have to be logged in to do that? And I can't change the password without logging in, but the login page is, as I've said, not secure. Thank you!
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,994
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Are Actiontec Routers Infected by Malware

Message 30 of 41
(3,661 Views)

https://www.verizon.com/cs/groups/public/documents/adacct/fios-qgr-userguide1409251.pdf

 

192.168.1.1 

then change the password there. Follow the instructions in my link above.

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.