Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Verizon FIOS Internet: Two routers or data jacks in same house. Any suggestions.?

Reply
nss
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-08-2009

Verizon FIOS Internet: Two routers or data jacks in same house. Any suggestions.?

Message 1 of 11
(20,206 Views)

HI:

I have set up box that needs high speed internet and needs to be near the TV for TV programming, but the main FIOS router provided by Verizon is in another room next to my desktop computer.   I simply now use long ethernet cable to plug the Internet port on the Set top Box to the LAN ports on the Verizon Provided router. This is not good solution because the set top box is in another room and  I need to keep  50 feet long Ethernet cable running in the house.

 

Will it be possible to add another data jack on the room where set top box/TV is located. Would this need another router?. Would both routers work in the same house. Unfortunately, the set top box doesn't work via wireless so  I have to keep using physical cable for internet connection. Any help or other suggestion will be appreciated.

 

Verizon FIOS internet: Two routers/ Data Jack in the same house. Any suggestions.

10 REPLIES 10
sgip2000
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎06-11-2009

Re: Verizon FIOS Internet: Two routers or data jacks in same house. Any suggestions.?

Message 2 of 11
(20,171 Views)

What kind of STB is this?  Tivo?  Roku? 

 

If it's a Verizon STB, ethernet is not needed.  The network is connected via coax.

 

If the STB does not allow for a wireless adapter, you have 2 options.

 

First one, as you know is run a cable.  This can be done so it is concealed.

 

Second option is a wireless bridge.  This device would get a wireless signal from your router and convert it to a wired connection that you can connect the STB to.

nss
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-08-2009

Re: Verizon FIOS Internet: Two routers or data jacks in same house. Any suggestions.?

Message 3 of 11
(20,163 Views)

sgip2000:

Thanks for your reply. This STB is by Neu Lion from Jump TV. This STB  basically allows you to watch TV via the internet on your TV set.  You pay monthly fees for the programming and it is not free.  See http://www.jumptv.com/international/

 

My question is still why can't we have another Data or Internet Jack port installed near the TV so we can plug and use STB there.  Can you have two computer in two different room connect to interment via wire at same time using FIOS internet  technology. Why do we have to use the main Router and Data Jack. When contacting Verizon Tech support, their  answer  was not clear. They said you would need to connect that STB via Wireless. Any suggestions. Thanks very much

 

 

DCGTLS
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-04-2008

Re: Verizon FIOS Internet: Two routers or data jacks in same house. Any suggestions.?

Message 4 of 11
(20,145 Views)

I have the conection on a shelf in my office closet. I wired the entire house with at least 2 CAT-5 (ethernet) outlets in each bedroom and I think 8 connections in my office. I still need to run a few connections to the entertainment center in the living room.

I have all of the cabling run up into the attic and it drops down inside the wall where I want the connections. My office was the easy part because I built the add-on to my house and pre-wired everything in here. The bedrooms were not to hard to do because I have an attic access on each side of the house. I would climb up on one side and have someone else on the other end. I have a cable gun that I bought at Lowes for about $30, it shoots a plastic glow in the dark dart and has a fishing line tied to it, there is a reel on the gun so after the other person ties the pull string I reel it back to me then we tie the CAT-5e cable to the pull string and drop it down in the walls and terminate the ends.

Another thing that I have seen done is to get what is called a fish tape, this is a reel of very stiff wire and you can push it accross under your carpet and use it to pull your CAT-5 cable back accross. That is the easiest option and also the cheapest.

 

If this all seems like too much for you to do, you can call Verizon or an electrian to come out and install all of this for you. I would guess verizon would charge about $100 or so.

 

And to answer your other question, yes you can have 4 computers connected the the existing verizon router. You can also buy a Network switch(hub) for about $40 to get more ports available. One other option to save all of the wiring would be to get what I currently have in my living room, a wireless bridge like the one that I am using.

 

Good luck

BrianMcD
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎05-01-2009

Re: Verizon FIOS Internet: Two routers or data jacks in same house. Any suggestions.?

Message 5 of 11
(20,125 Views)

Which Verizon FIOS Router do you have and how is it connected to the ONT (Ethernet or Coax) ?

 

Do you have FIOS TV Service thru Verizon and is there a live Coax Jack near the Neu Lion STB ?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.
nss
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-08-2009

Re: Verizon FIOS Internet: Two routers or data jacks in same house. Any suggestions.?

Message 6 of 11
(20,101 Views)

DCGTLS:

Thanks for the reply. Your explanation was much helpful than the support. Can you elaborate more about how these Ethernet outlets that you have in each bedroom connected. Are they coming as a cable from the main router or from the main Jack outlet in the main room. My situation is that I have the main Ethernet  Jack and a coaxial cable jack in addition to the Verizon Model 9100#M router and my computer all  in my home office. The STB that  I am trying to connect to Internet is located  in the living room near the TV set. Ideal situation for me is to have the Ethernet Jack in the living room so I can connect the STB to it with no external cable coming for 50 feet long form the office to the living room all over the house.

 I was told that to install another outlets in other rooms, you need to have another router ( Outlet by itself will not be not be enough). Is this not true.? If that is the case, then  my issue will be easy to resolve. Thanks

 

nss
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-08-2009

Re: Verizon FIOS Internet: Two routers or data jacks in same house. Any suggestions.?

Message 7 of 11
(20,097 Views)

BrianMcD:  I have WEST TELL Model # 9100EM router that was installed by Verizon 7 months ago. I do subscribe to their  three FIOS buddle including FIOS TV through Verizon. Yes, there is a Coax  Jack near the TV that is already  used for my Verizon FIOS TV essential programming. The Neu Lion STB will be there too.

The question is where can  I connect that  STB or how do I get the High speed internet connection that is needs for it to function  (without running external 50 feet cable from the router in the home office all the way to the living room). Any suggestions. Thanks.

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Verizon FIOS Internet: Two routers or data jacks in same house. Any suggestions.?

Message 8 of 11
(20,091 Views)

 


@nss wrote:

BrianMcD:  I have WEST TELL Model # 9100EM router that was installed by Verizon 7 months ago. I do subscribe to their  three FIOS buddle including FIOS TV through Verizon. Yes, there is a Coax  Jack near the TV that is already  used for my Verizon FIOS TV essential programming. The Neu Lion STB will be there too.

The question is where can  I connect that  STB or how do I get the High speed internet connection that is needs for it to function  (without running external 50 feet cable from the router in the home office all the way to the living room). Any suggestions. Thanks.


 

 

nss,

 

There is an easy solution if you are willing to spend a few bucks and can find the device.

 

There is a device called the NIM-100, made by Motorola, and previously used by Verizon in the early FiOS TV days (late 2005, 2006). One one side it has a coax connection, on the other it has coax and cat 5. I use one in my family room at the other end of the house from where the router is located to provide a wired internet connection for my wife's PC (I installed FiOS TV almost 5 years ago, Verizon used the NIM for all TV installations back then, and never asked for it back when I got the Actiontec router much later).

 

You cannot buy a NIM from Motorola, but my understanding is that you can find them on eBay for about $60-65. You might even find one on a FiOS installer's truck for free, I have heard of people who have. If you Google "motorola nim-100" you will find lots of links to discussions on using this device for just the kind of thing you want to do.

 

A couple of things to be aware of if you choose to get a NIM-100:

 

1) You need to put a splitter in front of the NIM to provide a direct coax connection to the TV. This is required because the NIM is a one way device for the TV signals, and the STB needs to be able to communicate with the router in both directions. From the splitter the other output goes to the NIM,. Then you connect your cat 5 cable to the ethernet port on the NIM and you leave the coax connection on that side unused.

 

2) The splitter needs to have a pretty high bandwidth. The typical splitter you might get from Home Depot or Lowes probably will not work. I have gotten free splitters from FiOS installers and from a Verizon  store in Southlake,TX. I am not at home right now or I would provide the brand name and specs (5-1000 MHz if I remember correctly), but you should be able to find them pretty easily.

 

This is a very easy to set up and use way of doing this. There is no configuration needed on the NIM, you just make the connections and power it up, and the ethernet stuff works.

 

You can also buy another Actiontec router (from eBay) and disable most of its functions and use it the same way. But that thing is so big and generates so much heat I would recommend using the NIM.

 

Hope this helps.

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416, IMG 1.6.2, Build 08.58
Keller, TX 76248

 

 

 

 

VZ_Brett
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎09-08-2009

Re: Verizon FIOS Internet: Two routers or data jacks in same house. Any suggestions.?

Message 9 of 11
(20,075 Views)

NSS, I believe your best bet would be to run a pre made Ethernet cord ( CAT 5) that you could buy from any Electronic Store or Home Depot & either run it from your basement or attic & plug one end into your Routers Lan Port & the other into your STB. If you run it from your basement you could just drill a 1/2 inch hole in the room where your router is & another hole where the  STB is. Or you could drill into the header of the wall & fish it to make it look more professional.

Brett
Verizon Telecom
Fiber Solution Center


Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supercede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or Plan.

DCGTLS
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-04-2008

Re: Verizon FIOS Internet: Two routers or data jacks in same house. Any suggestions.?

Message 10 of 11
(20,012 Views)

Here are a few web pages that will explain it a litte better for you.

http://www.instructables.com/id/How_to_Wire_Your_House_With_Cat_5_or_6_For_Ether/

 

http://www.engadget.com/2006/08/22/how-to-run-your-own-network-wiring/

 

This one gives some good info but I would not go with the wiring block like he did. http://www.wsrcc.com/wolfgang/cat5/

 

This one is a forum post with good questions and answer. Exactly what you are wanting to do. http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/21924-42-help-design-fios-network

 

Hope these help a little.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title