×

Switch Account

Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

SOLVED
Reply
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-14-2014
Message 21 of 465
(5,122 Views)

Just a shot in the dark, but since the problem seems to be related to universal plug and play, you may want to try the following:

 

Login to the router http://192.168.1.1   from any web browser, (the user name should be admin & the password should be on a label attached to the router.) Then click this link http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active_page=900 and uncheck all boxes, apply - logout.

 

I just disabled UPnP on my Actiontec...I'll let the community know if the problem occurs again.

 

Seems that another option is to disable UPnP on any devices you might have. But since I had no desire to comb through the dozen or so devices on my network, I just toggled the setting on my router instead. 

Copper Contributor chaybee1
Copper Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎01-14-2014

I have read aboout the UPNP thing.  Please let me know if that works!  

 

As of this morning my router was active for 19 hours, which was the amount of time since the Verizon guy replaced my ONT and 3 STB's yesterday, so, no reboot yet, although I am not optimistic.  I will check the status when I get home.  I have never gotten more than 40 hrs without a reboot.  I will keep everyone updated.  See my earlier post for all of the troubleshooting I have done.  This last visit was a last resort in regards to any hardware issue.  

Copper Contributor chaybee1
Copper Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎01-14-2014

I believe you will run into a problem if you switch back to the old router with the quantum speed.  It is my understanding that only the rev "I" can handle it.  I came across this first hand as I did not read the fine print when I upgraded to Quantum.  I was streaming a baseball game on MLB.TV and it kept buffering and reverting to Stanard Def.  After looking into this, I was informed that the old router "E" i think? cannot handle HD and 50/25 speeds.  Of course though,  once I upgraded, the random reboots began.   

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-14-2014

True...older routers are definitely limited. But you could connect the newer router to the old one and potentially avoid this problem. That is, run coax directly to the older router, then connect the newer actiontec to the first via ethernet and stream off of that. I would have done this myself a long time ago, but I'm using my older router as a moca bridge in an entirely different room and have four different peripherals hardwired to it.

 

Copper Contributor chaybee1
Copper Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎01-14-2014

Ahh,  I understand,  didn't think about that.  

 

small update - Just got home from work and router has been active for 28 hrs. 45 mins., so no drop yet since Verizon left yesterday.  This is not uncomon for me however since I am generally between 8 - 40 hrs between drops (although usually it's around 20-30 hrs.)   I'll keep updating.  

 

Any update since turning off the UPNP?

 

 

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-14-2014

Well, so far so good, but it's only been 2 hrs, 45 mins. The real test will be whether I can make it through the night without a reboot. Fingers crossed.  

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-14-2014

17hrs, 40mins of uninterrupted service since I switched UPnP off. Long way to go, however. I'll only consider this resolved once I hit 72hrs or so.

Copper Contributor chaybee1
Copper Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎01-14-2014

I'm with you.  As of 6:44 AM  I have had no interruption for 43 hrs. 11 mins but I am still not optimistic, yet.  It will be VERY interesting if both you and I start having no interruptions as we both have done separate troubleshooting this time around.  My non-interrupted service has been since the tech came out, replaced the ONT and 3 STB's,  I also noticed at the same time that my EPSON Cloud printer needed a firmware upgrade, so I did that as well.   I have not howver disabled UPNP as of yet.    If for some reason we both end up with no more rebooting randomly,  I would have to assume that Verizon has done something on their end.  I would be curious to check the other posts after a few days to see if other drops have ceased as well.  

 

Anyone else who has posted on this thread notice any changes?

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-14-2014
Message 29 of 465
(5,013 Views)

Yeah, it's possible you might have an entirely problem than me -- maybe your ONT or perhaps one of your STBs. Although, interestingly, the last field tech who was here told me there's very little chance a STB could actually cause the router to reset. It's anybody guess whether he knows what he's talking about, however. This was, after all, the same guy who had "never heard of router reboots" until he managed to dig up the Verizon document from October on his tablet. Guess the moral is that it pays to read internal memos from your own company.

 

I see all sorts of strange stuff going on in my router logs and I'm pretty confident that more than one device on my network is causiing half-closed sockets. I'm not willing to remove any of them, though, so I figured turning off UPnP on the router was the best bet. Remains to be seen whether doing so impacts any of my devices, but I haven't noticed any problems yet.

 

Anyway, good luck to all of us. God knows I am sick to death of trying to troubleshoot this. More updates to come. 

 

 

 

Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 522
Registered: ‎06-24-2010

Hey guys. This has been happening to me too for a couple months. A reboot within 24 hours of the last one. Every. Single. Day. Just received a new router today, though based on what I've read elsewhere, I'm not confident it will solve the issue. The Verizon guys told me if it happens again, the next step is replacing the ONT. We shall see.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.



Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.