Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Verizon Fios Moca Setup

Reply
SGuilherme
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-21-2013

Verizon Fios Moca Setup

Message 1 of 20
(5,294 Views)

Does this setup seem correct?

 

Basically the ONT coax to a splitter going to the Fios Moca router and the STB. Then a Coax in each room split by a two way splitter with one end to a STB to mantain DVR and Guide and the other end into a Moca adapter like the ECB2200V. Then an Ethernet cable to either a HDTV, PC or Gaming device.

 

Here's a Diagram.

 

Fios setup.png

19 REPLIES 19
SGuilherme
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-21-2013

Re: Verizon Fios Moca Setup

Message 2 of 20
(5,291 Views)

Equipment that will be used.

 

http://www.amazon.com/Actiontec-Verizon-Coaxial-Network-ECB2200V/dp/B005DIQ2OC

 

and the Fios Actiontec MI424WR rev 1

hlppls
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎11-09-2013

Re: Verizon Fios Moca Setup

Message 3 of 20
(5,277 Views)

Sound like a winner. They do have a new wireless version as well. Look on actiontec's website.

Anti-Phish
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Verizon Fios Moca Setup

Message 4 of 20
(5,272 Views)

Can't see you diagram yet (a moderator has to approve it).

 

What are you questioning about the configuration?

From your description, it sounds fine.

 

Keep in mind there is a limit of 8 MOCA devices (including the router), if you have any MOCA 1.0 devices on your network.  The ECB2200 is a MOCA 1.0 device.  Since I can't see your diagram yet, I don't know if that's an issue for you.  If all your devices are MOCA 1.1, then the limit goes to 16.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

hlppls
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎11-09-2013

Re: Verizon Fios Moca Setup

Message 5 of 20
(5,243 Views)

Everyone likes to use MOCA because it keeps you from running cables, but be aware of it data limits. 175 megs per the ECB200 spec sheet. Verizon will not use moca fo data packages over 75 megs. You may never see a problem but be aware.

SGuilherme
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-21-2013

Re: Verizon Fios Moca Setup

Message 6 of 20
(5,218 Views)

These are the devices.

 

Room 1 has the ONT, the Fios Router, the STB and a non smart HDTV so i'm guessing this is using one Moca out of the 8 i beleive im allowed.

 

Room 2 will have one Moca bridge, STB and a Ethernet to the Smart HDTV

 

Room 3 Will have one Moca bridge, STB and a ethernet to a PC or Smart HDTV 

 

Room 4 will not be using a Moca bridge, i will run a Hard wire Ethernet straight from the Fios router to the PS4. 

 

so in total its, a Fios router, Two moca bridges, three STBs, Two Smart TVs or One Smart TV and a PC. That Equals 8 right?

 

"Everyone likes to use MOCA because it keeps you from running cables, but be aware of it data limits. 175 megs per the ECB200 spec sheet. Verizon will not use moca fo data packages over 75 megs. You may never see a problem but be aware."

 

What do you mean by this? now on speedtest i get 75 download and 35 upload. My internet is just used for smart tvs, a PC and a gaming console. Shouldn't affect me right? 

 

"What are you questioning about the configuration?

From your description, it sounds fine"

 

Just wanting to make sure this configuration will work correctly. Its not setup yet, getting the Moca bridges this week but wanted to double check before i spent money on a setup that wouldnt work. 

SGuilherme
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-21-2013

Re: Verizon Fios Moca Setup

Message 7 of 20
(5,215 Views)

Here's and updated diagram.

 

http://i.imgur.com/vmbShMi.png

Anti-Phish
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Verizon Fios Moca Setup

Message 8 of 20
(5,197 Views)

@SGuilherme wrote:

so in total its, a Fios router, Two moca bridges, three STBs, Two Smart TVs or One Smart TV and a PC. That Equals 8 right?


No.  The limit applies to MOCA devices only.  I count 6 (router, 3 STBs, 2 MOCA adapters).   Smart TVs and PCs are not MOCA devices.  You can have any number of ethernet devices behind a MOCA adapter.

 

BTW, I would suggest going with the ECB2500, not the ECB2200.  The ECB2200 is MOCA 1.0, while the ECB2500 is MOCA 1.1.  Don't constrain yourself to an 8 device limit by buying MOCA 1.0 adapters.


@SGuilherme wrote:

 

"175 megs per the ECB200 spec sheet."

175Mbps is the PHY rate on the coax.  You won;t get over 100Mbps with an ECB because the ethernet port is 100Mbps only.

 

 

"Verizon will not use moca fo data packages over 75 megs."

That refers to the WAN connection.

 


 

 

SGuilherme
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-21-2013

Re: Verizon Fios Moca Setup

Message 9 of 20
(5,176 Views)

 

 

Looks like everything is good to go then! Thanks everyone for your help.

 

thanks for the tip on the ECB2500 

OneEyedWonder
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: Verizon Fios Moca Setup

Message 10 of 20
(4,848 Views)

Hello all and thanks for this post as it has been very helpful.  

 

I just installed the ECB2500 to hook up a new SmartTV and it works great.  I do have a few questions though if some could help me out.

 

1. I previously, before finding out about MOCA, had purchased a Cisco Powerline adapter to run my Apple TV.  I had very poor wireless range to where the TV was in the living room.  The Powerline worked great for its purpose and was very happy with its performance.  Now that I have the MOCA set up, is its possible to run an Ethernet multiswitch to expand the ports of the 2500, and use for my TV and Apple TV and possible future add ons? And if so, can someone recommend one. 

 

2. Does using a splitter to run to the 2500 and to the STB downgrade my video picture quality at all? 

 

Thanks in advance to anyone who may answer.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title