×

Switch Account

Verizon ability to connect remotely to MAC!

Reply
Highlighted
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎10-09-2008

Verizon ability to connect remotely to MAC!

Message 1 of 8
(15,027 Views)
Supposed to be available today.  is it working yet?  What's it like?  did it work?
cjacobs001
7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008

Re: Verizon ability to connect remotely to MAC!

Message 2 of 8
(15,003 Views)
Yes we now have the ability to connect to Macs and remote desktop. Other additions too were made to the software but...It's works well!
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-29-2009

Re: Verizon ability to connect remotely to MAC!

Message 3 of 8
(14,745 Views)

@CharlesH wrote:
Yes we now have the ability to connect to Macs and remote desktop. Other additions too were made to the software but...It's works well!

Can you spell out what you mean here? Are you saying Verizon tech support can now tap into a customer's Mac via Apple Remote Desktop and therefore control the Mac? Anything else additional that pertains to the Mac?  Thanks much!

Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008

Re: Verizon ability to connect remotely to MAC!

Message 4 of 8
(14,737 Views)

No that's pretty much it.

 

NOTE: We can only assist in helping you getting email working and wireless network connection working, anything other issues you are having with you MAC, you should contact Apple.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-29-2009

Re: Verizon ability to connect remotely to MAC!

Message 5 of 8
(14,733 Views)

@CharlesH wrote:

No that's pretty much it.


Well that's certainly welcome news. Since you're not mentioning "Back to my Mac" then I assume the Techs are able to connect to a particular subnet a customer is sitting on, in order to see their router?  Pretty cool.


@CharlesH wrote:

NOTE: We can only assist in helping you getting email working and wireless network connection working, anything other issues you are having with you MAC, you should contact Apple.


 Of course!  Thanks for your quick reply.

 

 

Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008

Re: Verizon ability to connect remotely to MAC!

Message 6 of 8
(14,713 Views)
Message Edited by CharlesH on 05-29-2009 03:51 PM
Highlighted
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 497
Registered: ‎05-21-2009

Re: Verizon ability to connect remotely to MAC!

Message 7 of 8
(14,656 Views)

Verizon uses a tool called Go To Assist.... you can read all about it on Go To Assist's website.... Go to assit has had the ability to work on a Mac for a while, but apparently Verizon just recently got that upgrade...

 

In a nutshell, it allows the tech suppport rep to access the Customers PC or Mac, view their screen, use thier mouse and keyboard

 

Good stuff

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bob Robertson - Lighter Klepto - I steal lighters, not bandwith
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-29-2009

Re: Verizon ability to connect remotely to MAC!

Message 8 of 8
(14,616 Views)
Not to be a wet mop but that's completely opposite of using Apple Remote Desktop. LOL!  Still good to see progress being made on that platform though.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.