Switch Account

WIFI Speed

SOLVED
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Message 1 of 16
(2,389 Views)
I am new to FIOS and my wifi speed is slow. I am getting 100 upstream and downstream when connected by Ethernet. My wifi speed is about 40 down and 12 up (10 feet from my wireless router Actiontec MI424WR. I tried using different channels but really did not see much change so I have the channel as automatic. I recently switched from Comcast internet and with the same Windows PC I was getting about 40 up and 40 down. So why am I so much slower with FIOS?
15 REPLIES 15
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Message 2 of 16
(2,360 Views)

Because it's a cheap router.

Try adding your own wap to the network.

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Message 3 of 16
(2,343 Views)

For the average home user you care about down speed.  Unless you are backing up a lot of data to the cloud, you won't notice the difference between 40 and 12 up.

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Message 4 of 16
(2,337 Views)

On the contrary, having bad uplink on what should be symmetrical (even if half duplex in the case of Wi-Fi) is something that will kill your performance. Upload is just as important as the download.

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Message 5 of 16
(2,334 Views)
I am guessing that you mean wireless access point. I have a previous router that I used as an access point so I am guessing that you suggest that I use it. When I set the "second router" up as an access point do I disable the wireless function of the Verizon provided modem/router? Also, my PCs are capable of both 2.4 ghz and 5.0 ghz, does the Verizon provided unit also support both?
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Message 6 of 16
(2,332 Views)
Actually my upload speed varies between 4 and 12 and I do use the wifi to backup my PCs regularly.
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII