×

Switch Account

WIFI Speed

SOLVED
Reply
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎08-02-2013
Message 11 of 16
(1,158 Views)

@Smith6612 wrote:

On the contrary, having bad uplink on what should be symmetrical (even if half duplex in the case of Wi-Fi) is something that will kill your performance. Upload is just as important as the download.


Have a source for that?  If true, every cable internet customer in the US would have their perfomance killed as you put it.  Comcast, TWC, Charter, Suddenlink etc etc, none of them offer up speeds that are anywhere close to down speeds.

Contributor Dan_Spo
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-28-2016
Message 12 of 16
(1,068 Views)

Well I have had Fios for about 2 months now. And here are 2 screencaptures I did on speedtest.net. The first is from 2 days after starting service. The second was from about an hour ago:

 

2 days after starting service:

2_months_ago_or so.png

 

Today:

2_months_or_so_in.png

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It seems I've gone back to having DSL.

MVP CRobGauth MVP
MVP
Posts: 7,713
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 13 of 16
(1,061 Views)

It is possible that something is causing interference on your wifi.

Or an issue across Internet.

Run test to speedtest.verizon.net.
That will test your speed within the Verizon network (which is all Verizon can control).
If that still gives poor performance, you need to check your wifi.

If you have an android device, download an app called wifi analyzer.

If can show you a lot of info about your wifi performance.

If you don't, try logging in to router and chaning channel.

Default is usually auto which may not give optimum performance.

Try changing channels to see if peformance improves.

What model router do you have?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎05-13-2016
Message 14 of 16
(1,057 Views)
My problem with speed from modem and wifi was solved when I switched modems. I got a quantum G1100 and my speed from the modem and wifi are about the same. I get 100 up and 100 down which is what I am paying for. The wifi increase I believe is because the Quantum has 5.0 GZH and with my building there are a lot of interference. Even now my 5.0 gets very weak when I try to use it on the second floor (modem installed on first floor). I solved the slow wifi upstairs by adding an access point.
Contributor Dan_Spo
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-28-2016
Message 15 of 16
(1,052 Views)

Thanks for the tips! Read up on things and I didn't realize that our router supported both 2.4 and 5 ghz. Switched to the 5G and my speeds are right back to where they were when I first connected!

 

SC_00274.png

Highlighted
MVP CRobGauth MVP
MVP
Posts: 7,713
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 16 of 16
(1,040 Views)

FYI FiOS does not use modems. The device you are referring to is a router.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.