×

Switch Account

Was told i need a new ONT to switch services

Was told i need a new ONT to switch services

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor js869215
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-18-2019
Message 1 of 6
(370 Views)

Today I was told by a sales rep that I will need to upgrade to the newest ONT in order to get my new services, AND MUST pay the $99 service charge. We are changing services, from gigabit with custom tv and phone, to gigabit with custom tv. I currently have a I-211L-M ONT and a G1100 router. Does anyone know if Verizon is using a newer ONT?

5 REPLIES 5
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,213
Registered: ‎06-24-2018
Message 2 of 6
(338 Views)

The 211ml is the newest ONT that Verizon uses so I'm not sure why that would trigger a change. Maybe there is a new version of the 211ml they want to install. The rep might have been misinformed. Did you get and actual install date and time window?

Contributor js869215
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-18-2019
Message 3 of 6
(327 Views)

They would not complete the order without setting an appointment. There is an option for the appointment online to leave a message for the technician, I will probably explain using that. Maybe the technician can cancel the appointment.

Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,363
Registered: ‎12-02-2012
Message 4 of 6
(269 Views)

Sounds like you're just dropping phone.  As you've the latest ONT, there is no need to replace it.

 

Try using chat, they can be more helpful than the phone reps.  You can also try the VZ direct forum over on dslreports; they are very helpful.

https://www.dslreports.com/forum/vzdirect

 

Good Luck.

 

-----
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor js869215
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-18-2019
Message 5 of 6
(258 Views)

Thank you Edg1 and gs0b.

Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,953
Registered: ‎05-27-2010
Message 6 of 6
(154 Views)

Think I'd second the chat route if that works.   Try the words "drop phone service" instead of "switch services".    For that matter, you should be able to drop the phone service online without even needing a visit unless Vz disable that via the portal.

 

If you want to make any other changes, do those later online.

 

Maybe Vz has you marked in their system as having an old ONT and never updated the record for some reason.   I had a similar problem where they kept insisting I was still provisioned on MoCA for internet when I had switch to ethernet over a year prior.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.