Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

What coax frequencies does FIOS use?

SOLVED
Reply
nation
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎01-27-2018

What coax frequencies does FIOS use?

Message 1 of 6
(1,565 Views)

Hey, does anyone know what coax frequencies fios uses for TV, LAN & WAN?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,956
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: What coax frequencies does FIOS use?

Message 6 of 6
(1,436 Views)

@nation wrote:

Hey, does anyone know what coax frequencies fios uses for TV, LAN & WAN?


WAN coax is 1000 MHz

LAN coax is 1150 MHz

Out of Band ( OOB which is how the STBs receive remote commands) is 75.25 MHz

TV channels range from around 60 to 860 MHz

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Cang_Household
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,196
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: What coax frequencies does FIOS use?

Message 2 of 6
(1,546 Views)

I am wondering what are you trying to do here, add some MoCA adapters?

 

All Actiontec/Verizon MoCA adapters and extenders should be plug and play if you have a Verizon router and have not disabled LAN Coax.

 

Verizon WAN Coax frequency is 1000Mbps and LAN Coax is 1150MHz. You can find out for sure by logging into the router's Full Status/System wide Monitoring of Connections.

nation
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎01-27-2018

Re: What coax frequencies does FIOS use?

Message 3 of 6
(1,509 Views)

It's a bit complex to explain but I basically need to find a coax filter that would only allow FIOS cable TV frequencies from leaving & entering the g1100, do you possibly know what frequency fios uses for it's cable tv?

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,580
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: What coax frequencies does FIOS use?

Message 4 of 6
(1,501 Views)

TV operates under 1Ghz, like standard CATV. The broadcast source for the TV signals is the FiOS ONT. The G1100 only operates above 1Ghz in the ranges used by MoCA.

Cang_Household
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,196
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: What coax frequencies does FIOS use?

Message 5 of 6
(1,495 Views)

@nation wrote:

...to find a coax filter that would only allow FIOS cable TV frequencies from leaving & entering the g1100...


What do you mean by FiOS cable TV frequencies? Do you mean Linear TV Signal? This signal comes from the ONT, not G1100. G1100 only accepts MoCA on coax.

 

To block all MoCA frequencies, you need a filter that only allows frequencies less than 1000MHz. Just find an old A/V splitter for the purpose of blocking MoCA signal perhaps.

Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,956
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: What coax frequencies does FIOS use?

Message 6 of 6
(1,437 Views)

@nation wrote:

Hey, does anyone know what coax frequencies fios uses for TV, LAN & WAN?


WAN coax is 1000 MHz

LAN coax is 1150 MHz

Out of Band ( OOB which is how the STBs receive remote commands) is 75.25 MHz

TV channels range from around 60 to 860 MHz

View solution in original post

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title