quick menu

What is an alternative to the Quantum Gateway Router?

What is an alternative to the Quantum Gateway Router?

SOLVED
Reply
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 3,823
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 11 of 17
(4,555 Views)

I think CRobGauth stated that in his post before yours.

his response was correct and shorter 😀

Contributor ctwise
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-12-2018
Message 12 of 17
(4,540 Views)

Sorry, were you referring to my response? I've been trying to understand the network requirements and restrictions with using your own router. I attempted to explain clearly why the FIOS router was required, what it was doing and the downsides of eliminating it. My apologies for the attempt at clarity. Thank you for welcoming a new contributor.

Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 3,823
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 13 of 17
(4,536 Views)

Sorry if I offended you. I was trying to use humor. That was the reason for the 😀

i apologize for the attempt. Your post was correct...

Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 6,990
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 14 of 17
(4,521 Views)

Yes quantum router acts as moca bridge.

But you can get all of the other functionality with your own router.

There is a post at the top of this forum that gives details on how to do that.

 


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor ctwise
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-12-2018
Message 15 of 17
(4,490 Views)

"But you can get all of the other functionality with your own router."

 

Sort've. Here are the things the FIOS router adds:

 

- Remote DVR programming

- On-TV-screen caller id

 

You can mirror the port forwards settings on the FIOS router, adding them to your own router. If you get rid of the FIOS router completely, then this will work until your WAN IP changes or you add or remove DVRs. This is because the FIOS router negotiates the port forwards and registers them with Verizon.

 

- "Automatic" fixing of internet connection from DVR menus

- Remote "admin" access for Verizon to troubleshoot your connection

 

This requires the admin interface running on port 4567 on the FIOS router. No FIOS router, no remote admin interface. Verizon support can't touch your router remotely. You might consider this a bonus, but it means support for issues between your house and Verizon will be difficult.

 

According to extensive research done by people on dslreports.com, the only reliable way to use your own router is to use _three_ of them. Your own as the main router, the FIOS router, and a third that mimics the WAN interface in front of the FIOS router. This requires you to update the third router IP address to match the _real_ WAN IP address whenever that changes. It also requires you to copy the port forwards from the FIOS router to your own router whenever they change. (https://www.dslreports.com/faq/16077)

 

But this is crazy complicated. Which is why I settled on leaving the FIOS router in place and putting my own router in the FIOS DMZ. Port forwards work normally on my router at the cost of double NAT.

MVP JustinG MVP
MVP
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎07-29-2015
Message 16 of 17
(4,450 Views)

ctwise - thank you for the post. I'll ask for the sticky topic here to be updated that on-screen Caller ID doesn't work when using your own router. 

Highlighted
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,142
Registered: ‎07-06-2016
Message 17 of 17
(1,551 Views)

In order to keep discussion on the community current, this topic has been locked to prevent new replies. If you have a similar question or issue that you wish to discuss, then please feel free to post a new message on the most relevant board. Thanks!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
My Fios App

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
 

My Verizon

  • Add or Change Plan
  • Suspend My Service
  • Apps

Support

Watch Fios