×

Switch Account

Why are my fios set top boxes running off my wifi? Doesn't that slow down my connection?

Why are my fios set top boxes running off my wifi? Doesn't that slow down my connection?

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor esseless
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-27-2014

Why are my fios set top boxes running off my wifi?  Doesn't that slow down my connection?

Just doesn't seem right

 

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 132
Registered: ‎01-08-2013

They're not. They're running through coaxial.

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎09-12-2013

Wait your FIOS boxes run off WiFi? I don't think that's accurate.

 

If your modem/ router is disconnected you lose tv guide and on demand options which use an extremely small amount of bandwidth, but your set top box itself receives its data directly from the COAX cable. (even in the modem situation the data is delivered over COAX and not via WiFi). 

Highlighted
Contributor esseless
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-27-2014

When I ran "whoisonmy ywifi", both of my set top boxes show  up on my wifi network. I was pretty surprised. 

 

Since I can get fios tv without internet, why do the STB's need to access on my wifi?

 

 

 

Highlighted
Contributor esseless
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-27-2014

Sorry. typo.

The STB show up when I ran whoisonmywifi.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,391
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 6 of 8
(2,306 Views)

@esseless wrote:

When I ran "whoisonmy ywifi", both of my set top boxes show  up on my wifi network. I was pretty surprised. 

 

Since I can get fios tv without internet, why do the STB's need to access on my wifi?

 

 

 


The app is mis-identifying them. Perhaps because they are considered media devices. Perhaps that application simply searches for all devices on the network and lists them out?

 

FiOS TV requires Internet in a sense. Even if you don't order Internet service, you still receive a FiOS router. The router won't give Internet, though. The router will simply pull an internal IP that only allows the Set Top Boxes to download guide and VOD information. Basically, it's walled off. This is by design of how the network works. It's that, or Verizon has to go the way of the Cable companies and install Cable modems (MoCa WAN chips) in each of the boxes which adds to the cost of the boxes.

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 132
Registered: ‎01-08-2013

@esseless wrote:

Sorry. typo.

The STB show up when I ran whoisonmywifi.


 

I don't know how the app works, but are you sure it's not just listing every device on your network?

Highlighted
Contributor esseless
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-27-2014

Thanks for the explanation.   

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.