×

Switch Account

Wireless Drops When Hardwired Desktop In Use

Wireless Drops When Hardwired Desktop In Use

Reply
Copper Contributor vevan21
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-21-2013
Message 1 of 16
(1,628 Views)

Hello,

 

I have a modem/router combo in my house at 25/25 speeds. I have one desktop hardwired to it in the office, and multiple devices connected via wireless (iphone, ipad, PS3, work laptop). The desktop goes into Sleep Mode when not in use. The wireless devices work just fine, until I go onto my hardwired desktop and start using the internet.

 

I am thinking this has to do with the desktop somehow disabling the wireless or kicking all devices off when it comes out of Sleep Mode? I am not sure why, but all of the wireless devices in use at the time lose connection with the signal. Once kicked off the network, the signal usually doesn't even show up when trying to reconnect to available networks, and if by chance it does show up, devices fail to establish a connection.

 

The only way we can restore wireless connections is if the desktop isn't used, and I assume goes back into Sleep Mode, or I power off/on my router and let it reboot.

 

I'm at work right now so I don't have the model # of the modem/router combo, but I thought I would post this while thinking about it. Hopefully there is a fix for this without knowing the model, otherwise I can add it later tonight.

 

Thank you for any help that can be provided!

15 REPLIES 15
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎11-09-2013
Message 2 of 16
(1,620 Views)

Have you done a factory rest on the router?

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
Message 3 of 16
(1,615 Views)
curious problem. Question, do you know if the desktop you are using has an option for wireless connectivity? I know you have it plugged in directly, but maybe the wifi signal from the desktop is somehow causing interference.
Copper Contributor vevan21
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-21-2013
Message 4 of 16
(1,606 Views)

I have reset it by holding in the red button at the back. I am not sure if that is factory restore, but that also fixes the problem, until next time I use my desktop...

Copper Contributor vevan21
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-21-2013
Message 5 of 16
(1,605 Views)

It does have wireless capabilities, but they are turned off at the moment.

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
Message 6 of 16
(1,602 Views)

Since this is an unusual problem I am still in the information gathering stage, sorry I don't know a solution off hand yet. I have one idea though and it involves changing the wireless channel number on your router. Can you tell me what model of router you have? I actually need the model number and the revision number. it might say rev. e or rev. G or rev. I

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,379
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 7 of 16
(1,545 Views)

Is your desktop using a Wireless mouse by chance, or use Bluetooth? Is the router sitting next to the desktop?

 

How about the wireless light on the router? Does that go out when the desktop is powered up? Also, while the desktop is powered up, using another device, do you see a new network appearing or do you see neighbors' networks disappearing, or weakening in signal strength significantly?

Copper Contributor vevan21
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-21-2013
Message 8 of 16
(1,542 Views)
Actually I do use a Bluetooth mouse on my desktop and the router is right next to it!

As far as I've seen, the wireless light is on when the desktop is in use. When the normal network ID drops off, I think I do remember seeing another network show up, with a name usually the same length as the lost network (I never changed it). Is my router creating a new one for some reason?
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
Message 9 of 16
(1,533 Views)
I think I do remember seeing another network show up, with a name usually the same length as the lost network (I never changed it). Is my router creating a new one for some reason?

that other network could be a neighbor that has a Verizon router that is showing up when your wifi signal is getting blocked. Seems as though he hit the nail on the head though with the bluetooth mouse being a problem. It has to be something turning on when the computer turns on, so the bluetooth adapter that is plugged into the desktop would fit that description. Just for testing purposes can you remove that bluetooth adapter from the computer and turn the computer on and see if you are still having the same problem? 

 

once we know that it is the bluetooth then we can work towards a resolution. We could try changing the wifi channel number on the Verizon router, that might minimize interference with the devices. You could try relocating the router further away from the desktop, although that is probably not a perfered resolution. 

 

If I knew the router model and revision you have I could give you the steps to logging into your router and changing the wifi channel number. 

Copper Contributor vevan21
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-21-2013
Message 10 of 16
(1,527 Views)
On the router channel, I just did a quick Googling and used a program called inSSIDer to look at my router's performance compared to other networks around it. It noticed I was on channel 11 which others were on, and it suggested a channel for me to change to. However when I typed my IP into the browser and tried logging into the settings, my failed attempts temporarily locked the account since I was trying to use the Network ID as the Username instead of usual default "admin". I will have to try again tomorrow and report back on how the performance is.

I just paused my Netflix to go onto my desktop and it seems the PS3 the Netflix was streaming from hasn't been kicked off, and I am writing from my iPad which normally would've been kicked off. This is odd, and I may not have paid attention to it, but the issue at hand may not happen every single time. I only notice when it DOES happen.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.