×

Switch Account

Wireless is unstable, need advice adding second wired connection

Reply
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Wireless is unstable, need advice adding second wired connection

Message 1 of 7
(8,202 Views)

Verizon mailed me my 3rd Actiontec router last week, and I'm still getting 2 - 3 drops every evening. I've tried everything (trust me). This isn't an issue with signal strength, because my ps3 and laptop are both just about 10-30 feet from the router. Anyway, I give up. What's frustrating, is that when Verizon came out and installed everything in the first place they installed the router in the back of my kitchen, which is basically an inconvenient location to hardwire into my laptop, and is impossible to hardwire to my ps3 without running a 30 foot cable into the living room. They told me, "Oh it doesn't really matter where we install the router because you should be able to hook up wirelessly without any trouble." Ha! It was simply more convenient for them to install it in the back of the kitchen because it's a straight shot down to the ont on the back of the house. Had they installed it in the living room, behind my tv for instance, I could plug in wired and at least get a stable hard wired connection on the ps3. I want a hard wired connection in the living room. Currently, I've just got the coax connection in the back of the kitchen hooked straight into the router. I use Directv, so there is no confliction with TV service. I'm certain Verizon is not going to do this for me free of charge, even after all I've put up with. What will it cost and what method will they use? Any ideas?

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008

Re: Wireless is unstable, need advice adding second wired connection

Message 2 of 7
(8,199 Views)
First thing I would try is to set your wireless to channel 11, and see id that helps. Also what I did was set up a second wireless router I could never get good signal from the Verizon wireless. But now that I have my new one, I never have any issues. 
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Wireless is unstable, need advice adding second wired connection

Message 3 of 7
(8,195 Views)

@TimSykes wrote:
First thing I would try is to set your wireless to channel 11, and see id that helps. Also what I did was set up a second wireless router I could never get good signal from the Verizon wireless. But now that I have my new one, I never have any issues. 

 

That's one of the first things I tried. I've tried literally every possible thing imaginable to get a stable wireless connection out of that Actiontec router. It's impossible. It doesn't matter if my laptop is sitting 5 feet away from the router. It drops ALL wireless connections randomly about 2 or 3 times an evening. I just want a wired connection. The coax that runs into the actiontec is obviously not tied into any other coax lines in the house because Directv is tied into those lines. I want a wired internet connection in the livingroom. Too much to ask? What's the cost?

 

Here is my specific questions:

 

Will they run a new coax line into the living room, and move the Actiontec so I can get a wired connection through the Actiontec LAN port to the ps3?

Will they run a new coax line into the living room, and put a 2nd Actiontec in this location?

Will they run ethernet from the LAN port of the Actiontec in it's current location through the walls into the living room to the ps3?

Will they do something else entirely?

What is this going to cost?

Message Edited by zdenneh on 01-28-2009 12:14 PM
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Wireless is unstable, need advice adding second wired connection

Message 4 of 7
(8,170 Views)

Here's another good question:

 

When Verizon installed FIOS at my house, why did they not tie the coax into the existing coax running through my house? I spoke to an employee at Verizon and he told me that I should be able to hook my router up to any coax point in my house.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Wireless is unstable, need advice adding second wired connection

Message 5 of 7
(8,145 Views)

@zdenneh wrote:

Here's another good question:

 

When Verizon installed FIOS at my house, why did they not tie the coax into the existing coax running through my house? I spoke to an employee at Verizon and he told me that I should be able to hook my router up to any coax point in my house.


 

FIOS can not share the COAX with Directv. Verizon should have run cable to at least one location at no charge. Part of the install. If you have a good spare RG-6 coax that is run to the desired location from the existing router location, then yes it will work. Take a connector and tie the coax that runs into your router to the coax run to your new location. Then move your router to the new location. If you are handy with coax and a drill, you may be able to get this done cheaply. Being able to correctly terminate ethernet cable is a little more difficult then coax. RG-6 coax could be purchased pre terminated. Ethernet cable can also be purchased pre terminated. Then again you may not wish to have the router in your living room.
Message Edited by prisaz on 01-29-2009 04:28 PM
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Wireless is unstable, need advice adding second wired connection

Message 6 of 7
(8,128 Views)
Thanks for your reply, but I don't have the slightest clue how cable is run through walls without tearing into the walls. I've always wondered how exactly that is done. Can you please explain how its generally done?
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Wireless is unstable, need advice adding second wired connection

Message 7 of 7
(8,121 Views)

@zdenneh wrote:
Thanks for your reply, but I don't have the slightest clue how cable is run through walls without tearing into the walls. I've always wondered how exactly that is done. Can you please explain how its generally done?

 

You can only hope the coax all comes to a central location. Which is usually the case with Directv. It you have ony one coax to your source, then there may be a splitter hidden somewhere. Some Directv installs run all the coax to the Dish and there is a multi switch in the dish. Some have a multi switch in the house. If you want to reuse the Directv cable and take it off of the dish. You would need to disconnect it and see if the signal drops at only one location. This would tell you if it is split anywhere.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.