Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

Wiring question for new install

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-05-2009

Wiring question for new install

Message 1 of 8
(8,991 Views)

I am switching from verizon DSL and Direct TV to fios internet and TV.  I was wondering if I will need a coax outlet near my primary computer.  I have a phone jack but no coax outlet near by.  I know the verizon tech won't fish wires and I don't want a "sloppy look" with wires running all over the room.  Should I install one or can the phone line be used somehow?  We are in a newer construction home.  Sorry if I misunderstand the tech of how things hook up!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-05-2009

Re: Wiring question for new install

Message 8 of 8
(8,856 Views)

again thanks to all.  i think i'll spend labor day laboring at pulling some coax through the walls.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-16-2009

Re: Wiring question for new install

Message 2 of 8
(8,950 Views)

The router that Verizon installs is an Actiontec, and comes with wireless capabilities.  If you have no coax near your main PC and you don't want to go through the costs involved in running a cable, you can get a USB wireless adapter for your PC and connect wirelessly to the router.  Verizon offers these adapters (for a fee), or you can purchase one on your own. 

 

 

Brian K
Verizon Telecom
Fiber Solution Center


Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supercede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or Plan.

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎09-03-2009

Re: Wiring question for new install

Message 3 of 8
(8,951 Views)

I 90% sure about this but you will need coax near any TV you want hooked up and Ethernet near any computer you want hooked up.  Since you are talking about your primary computer I would assume this is where you are going to hook up the router which is required for FiOS internet and TV.

 

The tech will run the line from the Optical Network Terminal (ONT) to the router and then use a patch cord from the router to your computer.

 

Hope this helps. 🙂

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎08-19-2009

Re: Wiring question for new install

Message 4 of 8
(8,934 Views)

If you don't want to connect wirelessly to your router, then you're probably going to have to either move your computer or install a new cable outlet.  There was a case a few days ago where someone had Comcast coming through the coaxial lines in their building and connected to FiOS over the phone line:

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-Internet/Fios-Installation-via-phone-jack/td-p/74331 but this seems sub-optimal. 

 

An alternative to wireless is to get a powerline ethernet adapter kit that would allow you to connect to your router through your electrical lines.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-25-2009

Re: Wiring question for new install

Message 5 of 8
(8,913 Views)

If V* will give you a free wireless adapter for your comptuer go that route.  This will allow you to move the computer any place in the house or you can get a wifi card from any electronics store for ~$40 plus the installer will love you for going wireless.  Mine shook my hand and thanked me several times when he realized my whole network was wireless and all he had to do was install the router.  Two hours start to finish for my install...ONT and everything.  Smiley Happy

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-05-2009

Re: Wiring question for new install

Message 6 of 8
(8,905 Views)

thanks for the replies.  good solutions, but i am wondering if I would lose connection speed going all wireless.  does anyone know if the verizon techs will go in a crawl space to run cable?  that may not make thing too bad if they can run a line up to my desk.  i remember when my direct tv was hooked up the tech told me he was forbidden to go into a crawl space.  he was kind of a tool though.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎05-01-2009

Re: Wiring question for new install

Message 7 of 8
(8,896 Views)

Wireless will be slower than a Wired Connection.

 

They may go into a crawl space to run the cable, but they may also charge you for a new cable drop.

 

If you run the RG6 Cable  from the ONT Location to the PC Location then the Technician will probably terminate the ends for you.

 

I have seen many post in both this Forum and Others and there does not appear to be a Universal Installation Manual that could answer these questions in advance.  There is no way to know for certain what will happen in advance.

 

 

 

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-05-2009

Re: Wiring question for new install

Message 8 of 8
(8,857 Views)

again thanks to all.  i think i'll spend labor day laboring at pulling some coax through the walls.

View solution in original post

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.