×

Switch Account

XBOX 360 and FiOS

Reply
Contributor KMacK
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-18-2008
Message 1 of 7
(12,044 Views)
Hey again everybody. Was wondering if anybody else has had this issue that I have been having with my 360 directly connected to the verizon MI424-WR gateway router. The issue I am experiencing is when I turn on my 360 and it's just starting up and signing into my profile and onto LIVE, sometimes it takes forever and sometimes not at all. What seems to be working for now is rebooting the router, but it's kind of anoying to have to do that so often. I can remember when I had my Linksys router (the WRT54GS) with DSL from Verizon, that thing was rock solid. Maybe there's a firmware upgrade now or something. I will keep researching anyways. OK, thanks for your help guys.
6 REPLIES 6
Contributor QueenB
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-19-2008
Message 2 of 7
(12,021 Views)
We have 3 Xboxes in our house, all set up to Ma FIOS router. You might want to go into your system settings on your Xbox and set your NAT to Open instead of moderate.  That seemed to help when we were having a problem.
Contributor KMacK
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-18-2008
Message 3 of 7
(11,996 Views)
Yeah, the NAT is set to open. I don't know, maybe I will get on the phone with tech support when I'm bored one of these days and see if I can reconfigure some other settings. Who do you think I should call? Verizon or 1-800-4-my-xbox?
Copper Contributor jmejiaa
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-19-2008
Message 4 of 7
(11,986 Views)
I'm hacing similar problems, sometimes it will connect and sometimes it won't. It's odd though but my pc does the same thing. It might be my router.
Contributor jamileh
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-21-2008
Message 5 of 7
(11,933 Views)

This is a port issue actually; try hooking up a second wireless access point (I use a 40 dollar linksys router) and using that network instead of the verizon network.

 

Works like a champ.

Contributor KMacK
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-18-2008
Message 6 of 7
(11,905 Views)
Yeah, it's just a shame that there are problems like this. I wish Verizon went with Linksys for their routers... I guess they have a pretty good deal worked out with motorolla with bothe the set-top-boxes and networking equipment....Ah! oh well.
Contributor arod
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 7 of 7
(11,811 Views)

Have you tried opening up the ports for Xbox live?

 

follow the instructions for your router listed at www.portforward.com

 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.