×

Switch Account

Xbox live connection issues--DNS settings - Primary and secondary

Xbox live connection issues--DNS settings - Primary and secondary

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Message 1 of 31
(11,004 Views)

Up until yesterday I never had an issue connecting to xbox live.  I've made no changes to my setup nor have I added any additional hardware to my home network. My xbox connects to the internet, but won't complete the connection to xbox live.

 

http://i904.photobucket.com/albums/ac244/jlake_photos/testlivewiredxblfail.jpg

 

Can someone provide the DNS settings - Primary and secondary DNS settings

Do I need to change my DNS settings.  They are set to automatically detect on my xbox 360.

 

 

Here are some details of my setup, which has not changed.

1. Xbox 360 has and has always been set to automatically detect IP address, subnet mask,

2. I have my xbox 360 set up with a wired connection directly to the wireless gateway verizon provided (Actiontec MI424WR)

3. I have my xbox 360 set as a DMZ host so that the IP address is static on my router settings.

 

Troubleshooting steps taken with no resolution to the issue:

1. Rebooted router several times.

2. Cleared xbox 360 memory cache.

3. Checked port forwarding for the following:

4. Made sure the following network ports are open on the firewall:

 

      a. Port 88 (UDP)

      b. Port 3074 (UDP and TCP)

      c. Port 53 (UDP and TCP)

      d .Port 80 (TCP)

 

 

Any suggestions?

--
If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution" button so that others can more easily find it.
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.
30 REPLIES 30
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-24-2011
Message 2 of 31
(10,998 Views)

Same issue here.  Verizon FIOS in Maryland.  Neither mine (wired) or my daughters Xbox (wireless) will connect to XBL.  I've rebooted the router, reset the router to factory settings, etc.  On both Xbox's the network test has be as connected to the internet, but errors when connecting to XBL.  May be unrelated (or not), but I can't seem to get to xbox.com from home either - it times out everytime.  Working fine at work (where I'm posting from).

XBL worked fine on the evening of 6/22.  I tried last night 6/23 and could not connect and tried again this morning 6/24 and am still having the same issue.

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Message 3 of 31
(10,995 Views)

@dadoublen wrote:

Same issue here.  Verizon FIOS in Maryland.  Neither mine (wired) or my daughters Xbox (wireless) will connect to XBL.  I've rebooted the router, reset the router to factory settings, etc.  On both Xbox's the network test has be as connected to the internet, but errors when connecting to XBL.  May be unrelated (or not), but I can't seem to get to xbox.com from home either - it times out everytime.  Working fine at work (where I'm posting from).

XBL worked fine on the evening of 6/22.  I tried last night 6/23 and could not connect and tried again this morning 6/24 and am still having the same issue.


That's funny you said that because I went to Xbox Live's support page and it times out as well.  It has to be a fios issue.  The Xbox Live Server status says everything is working.

 

I'm having the exact same issue.

 

Have you contacted Verizon by phone?

--
If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution" button so that others can more easily find it.
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-24-2011
Message 4 of 31
(10,986 Views)

I think I just followed dadoublen from the Xbox forums.

 

Same situation.  Maryland Fios.  Tried 2 wireless routers and it fails on connecting between Internet and Live.  I couldn't connect to the forums on Xbox.com either.

 

I come to work and can visit the site fine.

 

Someone from the Xbox.com forums was saying that Verizion Fios had some issues. 

 

I rather wait to see if things get sorted on their own rather than start making configuration changes.

 

It's nice to see that I'm not alone in this matter.

 

Let's keep each other up to date.

 

Thanks!

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-24-2011
Message 5 of 31
(10,984 Views)

No, I haven't called them.  I spent about an hour trying to figure it out on my own last night before calling it a night.  I was just hoping it would resolve itself by the morning, but no luck there.  I posted on the XBL forum as well and there appear to be a few other people having the same issue with FIOS.

 

http://forums.xbox.com/xbox_forums/xbox_support/f/9/t/27059.aspx

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Message 6 of 31
(10,980 Views)

I spoke to an agent at 1800Verizon and asked whether they had any recent bulletins of issues regarding xbox live connectivity.  I mentioned that there are others having the exact same problem.

 

To no surprise they claim there is no issue on their end and they do not monitor or prohibit any internet activity on their end so he concluded it must be xbox's servers.  I informed him that I'm able to get on to their website at work but not at home and he still said it must be their servers.

 

He did say that potentially xbox live might have blocked a range of IP addresses due to a potential security threat and that I should call them to verify if my IP address has been blocked.

 

 

 

--
If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution" button so that others can more easily find it.
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-24-2011
Message 7 of 31
(10,976 Views)

That's not good.  If things aren't resolved when I get home; I'll call Verizon and MS too.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
Message 8 of 31
(10,972 Views)

Verizon has been having an issue for about 3 days now that I have noticed.  They have been less than helpful, if you call they require you hook up their Actiontek router, which sucks; especially for XBL. 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-23-2011
Message 9 of 31
(10,967 Views)

I live in Maryland (Baltimore) and just had FIOS installed last Friday. I just checked and I can connect wirelessly to XBOX live with no problems. I do know that in order for me to connect, I had to enable Wireless MAC authentication and add the MAC address to the Allowed List.

 

Hope this helps

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Message 10 of 31
(10,963 Views)

@Stevenikkij wrote:

I live in Maryland (Baltimore) and just had FIOS installed last Friday. I just checked and I can connect wirelessly to XBOX live with no problems. I do know that in order for me to connect, I had to enable Wireless MAC authentication and add the MAC address to the Allowed List.

 

Hope this helps



I'm connecting to a wired connection.  Maybe the issue is resolved now.  I'm at work and can't verify that, but checked this morning at around 7:00 AM and it still would not connect.

--
If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution" button so that others can more easily find it.
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.