Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

blocked port(s)?

Reply
TJWrangler
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-15-2009

blocked port(s)?

Message 1 of 11
(14,818 Views)
does verizon block ports 3389, 3306, 3724, 8129, and 8093?
10 REPLIES 10
Brennoko
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎11-12-2008

Re: blocked port(s)?

Message 2 of 11
(14,789 Views)
No we don't. The only port we block is 25 for outgoing mail.

Brennoko
Verizon Telecom
Fiber Solutions Center


Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supercede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or Plan.

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: blocked port(s)?

Message 3 of 11
(14,749 Views)

Also port 25 for incoming mail if you open it and try to run a mail server for inbound connections. 80 and 8080 for HTML inbound and perhaps a few others. I did use remote desktop for a period, but turned it off and locked it down do to secuity concerns. You can open the port for connections and go to grc.com and use shields up for an inbound port scan.

 

For more information you can use the forums search dialog box and enter blocked ports. There are many postings, and possible work arounds.

Message Edited by prisaz on 05-18-2009 08:54 PM
Brennoko
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎11-12-2008

Re: blocked port(s)?

Message 4 of 11
(14,746 Views)
The block on port 80 should be removed everywhere even for residental accounts. Though it is still against the TOS to host any kind of server on a residential account.

Brennoko
Verizon Telecom
Fiber Solutions Center


Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supercede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or Plan.

TimSykes
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008

Re: blocked port(s)?

Message 5 of 11
(14,730 Views)

that is why they have dyndns.com But I use webhostingpad, I spent $70 to $80 for 2 years of unlimited everything plus free domain name. It would cost more to run a PC in power cost over the same 2 years.

 


@Brennoko wrote:
The block on port 80 should be removed everywhere even for residental accounts. Though it is still against the TOS to host any kind of server on a residential account.

 

 

Message Edited by TimSykes on 05-19-2009 08:38 AM
G-Pon
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎12-07-2008

Re: blocked port(s)?

Message 6 of 11
(14,699 Views)
There is a reall handy tool called portmon.exe comes with a lot of server platforms and MSFT "Resource Kits" so you may already have it, if not almost any download site like www.downloads.com would have it I bet. This will allow you to see exactly what is going on on your system when those ports are accessed. A good troubleshooting tool for port issues.
G-Pon
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎12-07-2008

Re: blocked port(s)?

Message 7 of 11
(14,700 Views)
Oh, and BTW, port 3389 is typically for RDP traffic for Terminal Services
prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: blocked port(s)?

Message 8 of 11
(14,676 Views)

@Brennoko wrote:
The block on port 80 should be removed everywhere even for residental accounts. Though it is still against the TOS to host any kind of server on a residential account.

When was the block on port 80 removed?

Many people have tried to use port 80 for things like home security cameras. Which is a type of server, and Verizon firmware at one point even had assistance for setting it up. I think the server restriction is to protect the integrity of the network more then anything. So if you run one and cause issues Verizon has the right to pull the plug. Bussiness use of a residential connection would be a no no, but private personal use would probably be ok? Cause issues and Verizon can pull the plug anyway. Web based computer games are peer servers of a sort. I though the server restriction was reworded or removed?

Found it. It is still there and relates mostly to bandwidth useage as Verizon may see as excessive.
"You also may not exceed the bandwidth usage limitations that Verizon may establish from time to time for the Service, or use the Service to host any type of server. Violation of this section may result in bandwidth restrictions on your Service or suspension or termination of your Service. "
Message Edited by prisaz on 05-19-2009 06:30 PM
TimSykes
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008

Re: blocked port(s)?

Message 9 of 11
(14,636 Views)

@prisaz wrote:

@Brennoko wrote:
The block on port 80 should be removed everywhere even for residential accounts. Though it is still against the TOS to host any kind of server on a residential account.

When was the block on port 80 removed?



He said it "Should be removed". It has not been, nor I don't think it ever will be. That is the one big thing that splits residential business accounts. 

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: blocked port(s)?

Message 10 of 11
(14,605 Views)

@TimSykes wrote:

@prisaz wrote:

@Brennoko wrote:
The block on port 80 should be removed everywhere even for residential accounts. Though it is still against the TOS to host any kind of server on a residential account.

When was the block on port 80 removed?



He said it "Should be removed". It has not been, nor I don't think it ever will be. That is the one big thing that splits residential business accounts. 


 

Oh. Woops my bad. Should have been, would be better. I guess if you do not understand redirects you shouldn't be running a server anyway.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.