Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

can anyone reccomend a router 'N" to be used as an access point for FIOS

Reply
oncdoc
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-06-2010

can anyone reccomend a router 'N" to be used as an access point for FIOS

Message 1 of 8
(5,039 Views)

im trying to decide between BUFFALO WZR-HP-G300NH or the linksys 655 xtreme.

 

based on my research I can turn off fios wifi and use one of these, right?

 

anyother ones come to mind please do share. I would like range and speed as priority and ease of use.

7 REPLIES 7
viafax999
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,159
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: can anyone reccomend a router 'N" to be used as an access point for FIOS

Message 2 of 8
(5,006 Views)

@oncdoc wrote:

im trying to decide between BUFFALO WZR-HP-G300NH or the linksys 655 xtreme.

 

based on my research I can turn off fios wifi and use one of these, right?

 

anyother ones come to mind please do share. I would like range and speed as priority and ease of use.


I use a dlink dir-655, nice feature.  I didn't turn of the VZ wireless, devices normally will connect to dlink as it's closest but if I'm in the basement the devices will connect to the Westell instead.

lasagna
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,002
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: can anyone reccomend a router 'N" to be used as an access point for FIOS

Message 3 of 8
(4,990 Views)

Given your two routers listed, I would tend to lean toward the Buffalo since it has an "access point" mode which will be useful in the FiOS environment where you also have an ActionTec as the primary connection point to the Internet.

 

It doesn't appear to be dual-band -- which is something you may want to consider since a dual band configuration will allow you to access the less crowded 5ghz band for the Wireless N signal instead of just the 2.4ghz range which is crowded by most existing Wireless B/G routers.

 

I use a Belkin Wireless N router which also has the capability to double as an access point and is cheap since it doesn't come with all the "extras" the routers you are looking at offer.  

oncdoc
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-06-2010

Re: can anyone reccomend a router 'N" to be used as an access point for FIOS

Message 4 of 8
(4,977 Views)

thanks for the responses.

 

Is the Belkin "pre-N router" an N or not... thats confusing.

 

 

oncdoc
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-06-2010

Re: can anyone reccomend a router 'N" to be used as an access point for FIOS

Message 5 of 8
(4,974 Views)

D-Link DGL-4500 802.11a/b/g/n 2.4/5GHz Simultaneous Dual Band Xtreme N Gigabit Gaming Router up to 300Mbps/ USB x1

 

would that work?????

lasagna
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,002
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: can anyone reccomend a router 'N" to be used as an access point for FIOS

Message 6 of 8
(4,943 Views)

Just about any router will work ... you just won't be using it in "router" mode.   With that said, this particular model is a bit of overkill for what you probably need.   With gigabit ports, unless you're hosting a gaming server in your house for your friends to get together and play, these are really not necessary.   A 100mbit connection will far exceed your FiOS upstream/downstream speeds.

 

Additionally, many routers can only shape and prioritize traffic as it goes thru the router.  When used as an access point, you don't get this capability.   This router also has USB printer sharing and file sharing as well ... if you don't plan to use those features, you're paying for something you don't need.

 

Of course, you need to have Wireless N adapters in your machines and have them be dual band capable as well.

 

A dual-band router however is a good choice.

 

 

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: can anyone reccomend a router 'N" to be used as an access point for FIOS

Message 7 of 8
(4,936 Views)

If you want to use the gigabit switch portion of the router and do alot of moving files around on your local networkd, the gigabit feature could be useful if that is why you purchase it.

lasagna
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,002
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: can anyone reccomend a router 'N" to be used as an access point for FIOS

Message 8 of 8
(4,932 Views)

Correct ... gigabit is nice if you have local traffic.   If not, the upstream router (ActionTec/Westell) or the ONT itself is going to be 100mbit and your gigabit ports will simply run in 100mb mode.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title