coax light on WCB3000n extender blinks

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-11-2020

Re: coax light on WCB3000n extender blinks

Message 11 of 19
(549 Views)

The white coax from the ONT goes to a splitter in the junction box.  One output goes back under the house to the extender, the other goes up to the attic where a coupler connects to the white coax.  That coax goes to the input side of a splitter.  one output goes to the G1100, the other to a STB.  Both splitters are Verizon logoed MoCA 2.0 installed by Verizon as was the white coax.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,874
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: coax light on WCB3000n extender blinks

Message 12 of 19
(539 Views)

Next I would replace the feed going the attic splitter. Also replace the fees going to the router. It’s kind if trial and error without using meter to test the levels. 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-11-2020

Re: coax light on WCB3000n extender blinks

Message 13 of 19
(475 Views)

What kind of meter is required?  Difficult to use?

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,874
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: coax light on WCB3000n extender blinks

Message 14 of 19
(445 Views)

I mean an RF meter to check the signal levels. Would be to expensive for a one time use. I would just start replacing coax since we already know the extents works with the splitters. 
There needs to be good coax from the outside splitter to the attic splitter and from attic splitter to the router. 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-11-2020

Re: coax light on WCB3000n extender blinks

Message 15 of 19
(411 Views)

I may have access to an RF meter.  I have a relative that used to install security systems over RG59.  What do I look for?

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,874
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: coax light on WCB3000n extender blinks

Message 16 of 19
(396 Views)

Well MoCA LAN used 1100-1175 MHz and if the meter doesn't test that high then set it to the highest frequency. See if you have BER errors and signal levels shouldn't be lower than -6 db.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-11-2020

Re: coax light on WCB3000n extender blinks

Message 17 of 19
(350 Views)

Thank you for the specs.  Unfortunately, the RF meter I have access to measures electrical interference.  Back to pulling more coax.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,874
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: coax light on WCB3000n extender blinks

Message 18 of 19
(315 Views)

I would focus on the feed going to the router from the attic splitter and the feed from the outside splitter to the attic splitter. 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-11-2020

Re: coax light on WCB3000n extender blinks

Message 19 of 19
(969 Views)

SOLVED!!!!

Talked to Verizon support.  Finally got through to a person after many calls over months.  They diagnosed the problem as a bad coax.  Said I could pay $99 to run new coax or sign up for in-house wiring maintenance, $30 per month and cancellable.  No brainer there.  Tech arrived today. Immediately said bad extender after looking at lights and not seeing on the network with his test equipment.  Swapped out WCB3000N for WCB6200Q.  Problem fixed.  Since it was a Verizon purchased 3000N, no charge.  Even after 5 years!  I was about to spend another $40 on cable and connectors with the hope it fixed the problem.

Thank you for all the input.  Learned alot.  

View solution in original post

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.