dual band on G3100 - only connects at 2.4GHz

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-29-2020

dual band on G3100 - only connects at 2.4GHz

Message 1 of 7
(5,951 Views)

we just had a G3100 dual band Verizon router installed.

out phones and tablets connect with 5GHz

 

my Lenovo laptop with Intel(R) Dual Band Wireless-AC 3165 wireless adapter only connects at 2.4GHz. Tried various setting on both the router and the laptop with no success.  When I set the laptop to connect with 5GHz my router no longer shows up on the list of available wifi connections.

 

does any one was able to use the Intel(R) Dual Band Wireless-AC 3165 wireless adapter with the G3100 router at 5GHz speed?

 

here is one of the laptop setting that should connect 5GHz

 

SSID: liberty
Protocol: 802.11n
Security type: WPA2-Personal
Network band: 2.4 GHz
Network channel: 1
Link-local IPv6 address: fe80::5c15:2775:1387:210b%9
IPv4 address: 192.168.1.161
IPv4 DNS servers: 192.168.1.1
Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
Description: Intel(R) Dual Band Wireless-AC 3165
Driver version: 19.51.11.2
Physical address (MAC): D6-56-F8-4E-29-2B

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,876
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: dual band on G3100 - only connects at 2.4GHz

Message 2 of 7
(5,928 Views)

Try turning off SON. I don’t have a G3100 but this is how you get there in the G1100...

Go to Wireless Settings/Advanced Security Settings/ Other Advanced Wireless Options/Self-Organizing Network Enabled and set to Off

 

You will also have to change the 5GHz SSID by placing 5G at the end to distinguish both bands. 

 

Another thing to check in Windows Device Manager is your Network Adapter Properties in the Advanced tab and make sure it is set to 802.11ac mode.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,876
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: dual band on G3100 - only connects at 2.4GHz

Message 2 of 7
(5,929 Views)

Try turning off SON. I don’t have a G3100 but this is how you get there in the G1100...

Go to Wireless Settings/Advanced Security Settings/ Other Advanced Wireless Options/Self-Organizing Network Enabled and set to Off

 

You will also have to change the 5GHz SSID by placing 5G at the end to distinguish both bands. 

 

Another thing to check in Windows Device Manager is your Network Adapter Properties in the Advanced tab and make sure it is set to 802.11ac mode.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,547
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: dual band on G3100 - only connects at 2.4GHz

Message 3 of 7
(5,880 Views)

The Wi-Fi Adapter will prefer to use 2.4Ghz if it is significantly stronger than the 5Ghz signal in a given area. On Intel cards, the best way to make them prefer 5Ghz is to go into the Driver settings in the Device Manager, and look for a value called "Preferred Band." Set this to "Prefer 5.2Ghz" and the card should bias towards 5Ghz far more often. 2.4Ghz will still be available for use (not disabled) if the 2.4Ghz network is the only one available. Also, if you have an option for 802.11d, make sure it is enabled, since this allows the Wi-Fi card to use 5Ghz DFS channels when the router is using them (and set to the Auto Channel selection).

 

SON can impact stability (because band steering as well as access point steering is not a perfect science) as well as your ability to just hard lock devices to the 5Ghz network. As pointed out above, if you disable SON, you can rename the 5Ghz network so it's less of a mystery as to whether you can see it, and whether you're able to join it every single time. Even if you go through with disabling SON, I suggest setting the driver settings above for when the laptop is in public places. Makes a big difference.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-29-2020

Re: dual band on G3100 - only connects at 2.4GHz

Message 4 of 7
(5,873 Views)

thanks

 

you instruction was very helpful

 

all working as expected

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-10-2010

Re: dual band on G3100 - only connects at 2.4GHz

Message 5 of 7
(2,512 Views)

I copied the MAC address of my device that was having a difficult 2.4 connection and pasted it into my restricted access section of the 2.4 network. I still have SON on but since that device is blocked it can only connect at 5 and is much more stable now.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-20-2020

Re: dual band on G3100 - only connects at 2.4GHz

Message 6 of 7
(391 Views)

I was upgrading from  a G1100 to s G3109. I couldn’t make the new G3100 work with SON = off and different SSID  names for 2.4G and 5G.  Every time I did that, all access(wifi and LAN) got extremely slow. I spent hours on the phone with Verizon support.  I finally gave up and kept the SSID the same.  I had to change the settings on many of my devices. I was ready to give up and call Comcast. The G3100 isn’t good. 

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: dual band on G3100 - only connects at 2.4GHz

Message 7 of 7
(362 Views)

Did you get a free upgrade to G3100? If not, then it is kind of not cost-effective.

 

Why does LAN get extremely slow? You have a loop connection somewhere? Is G3100 the only network device you have? 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz should have different SSIDs. This is a router issue, not from the end of Verizon, so no need to consider switching ISP yet.

 

Did you modify other wireless settings by accident?

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.