Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

g3100 router dropping out

Reply
FussyWifi
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-16-2020

Re: g3100 router dropping out

Message 21 of 33
(1,924 Views)

Just wanted to add that I just got the G3100 and new Fios One and have been having nothing but issues with the router, esp the 2.4ghz network constantly losing connection to some, and sometimes all, devices on that network.  Rebooting the router helps for less than a day, then it starts again.  Disabled both SON and DFS, but didnt do much. Also have an issue with the router retaining those settings.  See no improvement in 2.4, but 5ghz is considerably faster on wifi.  LAN speed is still hot, as I had between 1.5-2Gb as a normal speed.  No complaints about that! But, all my home automation devices rely on the 2.4 band, so the bugginess is killing that.  Anyone try just enabling mac address filtering? If so, did it help?

Cang_Household
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,338
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: g3100 router dropping out

Message 22 of 33
(1,921 Views)

This is kind of a known issue. It may have to do with the router's firmware. G3100 is relatively new, so Verizon will make revisions to resolve the problems, then what's deal right now? Maybe buy a WCB3000N (~$27), and give it a different SSID and all of your home automation can connect to it. WCB3000N is capped at 175Mbps, so it is more than enough for home automation.

 

If at all possible, I would suggest you to hard wire everything ethernet to preserve the gigabit speed and stability. You might need a 48-port switch though.

Vinny11
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-12-2020

Re: g3100 router dropping out

Message 23 of 33
(1,774 Views)

Hello, was curious to know if you ever received an answer to this or if its still going on.

 

I am having the same issue.  Just the front round light is on, everything on the back shuts off.  Never seen that before.  If I unplug any cable and plug it back in, all the lights come back on, then go off after about an hour or so.

Cang_Household
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,338
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: g3100 router dropping out

Message 24 of 33
(1,772 Views)

@Vinny11 wrote:

Hello, was curious to know if you ever received an answer to this or if its still going on.

 

I am having the same issue.  Just the front round light is on, everything on the back shuts off.  Never seen that before.  If I unplug any cable and plug it back in, all the lights come back on, then go off after about an hour or so.


Are you posting for the dropout or LED lights? LED lights are designed in that way I believe.

 

The dropout might due to router RAM overflow, or routing table overflow?

 

Do you have any other network devices?

Vinny11
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-12-2020

Re: g3100 router dropping out

Message 25 of 33
(1,715 Views)

I have never seen a router where all the lights go off while traffic is being passed.  I am specifically referring to the back of the router where the wan & Lan ports are.  Usually if a cable is connected to a live device its a green light, then a flashing green when traffic is passed through.  The WAN light should always be on.  Was not sure if this is by design to turn the lights off. No way to see if traffic is being passed through visually with the lights off.

dexman
All Star
All Star
Posts: 413
Registered: ‎06-10-2012

Re: g3100 router dropping out

Message 26 of 33
(1,377 Views)

The status LEDS on the rear of the G3100 and the E3200 will turn off after a certain amount of time. That is normal behavior.

 

For me, if I see the rear status LEDS illuminated,  I'll know that there was some sort of update or reset activity with the router, an extender or some other hardwire connected device.

Vinman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-06-2021

Re: g3100 router dropping out

Message 27 of 33
(1,314 Views)

Yes you should have a coax and ethernet going into router i have 1100 and never drops.

JKO
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-16-2020

Re: g3100 router dropping out

Message 28 of 33
(1,242 Views)

I just got the G3100 router and I'm having problems with one Mac (the newest one). The older Mac is getting great speed. The new one drops both Wifi and Broadband signals randomly, Pulling the Ethernet cable out of my Mac sometimes restores the wifi connection. It seems as if some people are seeing more problems/different ones with macs? I have Fios TV as well--but have no problems with that. 

 

I'm just seriously irritated that I bought the new hardware and am getting worse speed. Any suggestions?

 

RainbowRobb
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-06-2021

Re: g3100 router dropping out

Message 29 of 33
(1,018 Views)

We are having the same problem. Wifi will drop for all devices until the router is rebooted

Cang_Household
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,338
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: g3100 router dropping out

Message 30 of 33
(1,008 Views)

I am sorry for your inconvenience. To better assist you, could you elaborate the issue?

 

Do you have Self-Organizing Network (SON) turned on? If so, turn it off because it causes problem if you have legacy wireless devices.

 

When the WiFi has issues, are the Ethernet connections still functional?

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title