Re: google / youtube slow over fios. definitely verizon's fault (research inside), please fix
houkou_onchi
Enthusiast - Level 3

@Thunker wrote:

"Just because the IP is owned by Verizon doesn't necesarily actually mean much that much; especially when its the IP before it hits google's network and doesn't for sure mean is VZ and not google."

This is just wrong. The IP is registered to verizon as a business class router.

It is their responsibilty and I as a customer of theirs cannot go anywhere on the Internet without passing through the overloaded piece of crap.

A network ahead....yea right!

Um.  Please show me where that IP is registerd as a 'verizon business class router.' Atleast provide some evidence with your claim like I did.

Re: google / youtube slow over fios. definitely verizon's fault (research inside), please fix
ttist25

This is definitely a Verizon issue.  I'm a network engineer and have clients all over the country.  I had a DSL user who was experiencing slow connection speeds and while I was troubleshooting, I had them pinging google.com with -t switch.  Thinking there was an intermittent connectivity issue because of the amount of packet loss and it took FOREVER for me to figure out that it was only google.com that had the dropped packets.  yahoo.com had steady replies as did any other domain I tried pinging.  

I thought perhaps it was a localized issue and Verizon just didn't give a hoot because of the small user base in the area.   Then I got FIOS at my home.  I noticed that, although my Internet speeds were really fast, certain pages took FOREVER to load.  When I looked at the status bar for those pages, the URL it was requesting was some kind of Google image server (I can't remember the exact URL but when I looked it up it was owned by google.