guide for port forwarding on westell a90 9100EM15
driftertx
Enthusiast - Level 1

I posted this on youtube on how to get port forwarding to work properly for statically assigned hosts that you have behind a westell a90 9100EM15. I spent 3 hours trying to figure out how to get it working (and I'm a network engineer!). The westell has one of the most non-user friendly interfaces I've ever used. Anyways, this is a brief description of what it goes over.

Problem:

1) manually make firewall port forwarding with ip addresses does not properly activate port forwarding for whatever reason (appears to be a bug) on westell routers.

2) westell routers will work with DHCP assigned hosts however those settings are lost after a reboot

Solution:

1) you must assign a name on the 'my network' screen to your statically assigned host (make sure the host is online and can reach the internet so the westell knows it is online and it should be in the list of 'my network' should say that it was statically assigned.  You assign a name to the host by clicking the little computer icon that brings up a more detailed view that lets you 'rename' the host.

2) Name the host something you will remember

3) Goto the firewall port forwarding menu and at the bottom of the firewall rules make a 'new entry'

4) use '<hostname>' as your 'local host' then the desired port to forward

5) activate rules

Youtube URL: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=smTKjGzazfI

The above survives a reboot and will be saved on the westell. The video goes over in detail how to port forward and what the screens look like. Hope this helps someone who runs into this problem I ran into!

mike

Re: guide for port forwarding on westell a90 9100EM15
dabomb411

I have a question about prot forwarding. I need to forward multiple ports to one device. Example.

Device Diskstation - 192.168.1.220 port 5000

Diskstation - 192.168.1.220 port 4000