Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

how to renew dhcp leases with MI424WR-GEN3I router

Reply
andrewjs18
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-08-2012

how to renew dhcp leases with MI424WR-GEN3I router

Message 1 of 9
(5,833 Views)

Hi,

Is it possible to force all wifi/wired devices to grab a new DHCP lease through the router itself?

 

If so, how?

8 REPLIES 8
iDShaDoW703
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎08-25-2012

Re: how to renew dhcp leases with MI424WR-GEN3I router

Message 2 of 9
(5,821 Views)

Supposedly some people have had success via disconnecting the router (ie. coax/ethernet that runs to the ONT, and powering it all off for an hour or overnight).

 

I've tried but didn't have luck with that method so your mileage may vary.

Anti-Phish
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: how to renew dhcp leases with MI424WR-GEN3I router

Message 3 of 9
(5,815 Views)

@iDShaDoW703 wrote:

Supposedly some people have had success via disconnecting the router (ie. coax/ethernet that runs to the ONT, and powering it all off for an hour or overnight). 


 

The OP is asking about DHCP leases on the LAN side, not the WAN side.

Disconnecting the WAN connection will have no effect on LAN side DHCP leases.

 

Rebooting the router "should" cause the devices to obtain new DHCP leases.
That assumes both the router and the devices implement RFC1531 correctly.

viafax999
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,159
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: how to renew dhcp leases with MI424WR-GEN3I router

Message 4 of 9
(5,812 Views)

@andrewjs18 wrote:

Hi,

Is it possible to force all wifi/wired devices to grab a new DHCP lease through the router itself?

 

If so, how?


bring up my network and delete all the devices that show there.

 

BTW the leases automtically renew on a cycle anyway - I think it's every 24 hours.

walt178
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: how to renew dhcp leases with MI424WR-GEN3I router

Message 5 of 9
(5,807 Views)

In the MI424WR Rev I under Network Connections there is an option to renew the DHCP lease.   

Go to My Network > Connection Properties > Broadband Connection

viafax999
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,159
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: how to renew dhcp leases with MI424WR-GEN3I router

Message 6 of 9
(5,802 Views)

@walt178 wrote:

In the MI424WR Rev I under Network Connections there is an option to renew the DHCP lease.   

Go to My Network > Connection Properties > Broadband Connection


That will renew the WAN lease for the router, not the leases for the internal lan devices

hlppls
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎11-09-2013

Re: how to renew dhcp leases with MI424WR-GEN3I router

Message 7 of 9
(5,790 Views)

I think it would be more important to ask, what are you trying to do?

 

After the lease renews all of the connected devices should have the same IP address.

Anti-Phish
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: how to renew dhcp leases with MI424WR-GEN3I router

Message 8 of 9
(5,771 Views)

@hlppls wrote:

After the lease renews all of the connected devices should have the same IP address.


 

Huh?  Every LAN device should have a different LAN IP address.

 

 

hlppls
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎11-09-2013

Re: how to renew dhcp leases with MI424WR-GEN3I router

Message 9 of 9
(5,756 Views)

@Anti-Phish wrote:

@hlppls wrote:

After the lease renews all of the connected devices should have the same IP address.


 

Huh?  Every LAN device should have a different LAN IP address.

 

 


The device will have the same IP that it had before the renewal!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.