Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

iTunes access

Reply
Joe_Janney
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-11-2012

iTunes access

Message 1 of 5
(1,006 Views)

Since I got FIOS internet I cannot access the iTunes store.  ITunes says that it cannot establish a secure connection with the iTunes store.  Reinstalling iTunes and doing diagnostics with iTunes has not helped.  Is there some issue anybody knows about with the FIOS security suite that is causing this?  Help?

4 REPLIES 4
Anthony_VZ
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 3,216
Registered: ‎02-24-2011

Re: iTunes access

Message 2 of 5
(953 Views)

Sorry to hear you have been having these troubles with your Itunes. There have been numerous other posts providing fixes for different connection issues with Itunes. Most recent one I came across was http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-Internet/Itunes-Sharing-not-working-over-wireless/td-p/197152/high... . Please also continue to search to find the many self help solutions already suggested on the forumes. At the top you can type the search term "itunes" in, make sure the drop down says "board", then click search to return all the results.

Anthony_VZ

**If someones post has helped you, please acknowledge their assistance by clicking the red thumbs up button to give them Kudos. If you are the original poster and any response gave you your answer, please mark the post that had the answer as the solution**

Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supersede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or plan

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: iTunes access

Message 3 of 5
(938 Views)

@Joe_Janney wrote:

Since I got FIOS internet I cannot access the iTunes store.  ITunes says that it cannot establish a secure connection with the iTunes store.  Reinstalling iTunes and doing diagnostics with iTunes has not helped.  Is there some issue anybody knows about with the FIOS security suite that is causing this?  Help?


I could not get the link that was posted to show anything. So I have questions.

 

What OS are you running?

Are you using Verizon Internet Security Suite?

 

Is this error being reported by a computer that is hardwired to the Verizon router, or is it connecting over a wireless connection?

 

If you are connecting over wireless, please see this post regarding wireless security settings. It applies to almost all newer Apple devices. You need a higher level of wireless security. Or you will have connection issues with Apple products.

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-Internet/Cannot-connect-my-Ipod-Touch-to-Router/m-p/468445#M31045

 

 

If you have VISS installed, it could be blocking the program. See this.

 

For Windows

http://www22.verizon.com/support/residential/internet/fiosinternet/general+support/essentials+and+ex...#

 

For MAC

http://www22.verizon.com/support/residential/internet/fiosinternet/general+support/essentials+and+ex...

Typical
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-11-2012

Re: iTunes access

Message 4 of 5
(909 Views)

I just experienced this same frustrating problem (on a wired Windows PC) after changing from cable to Fios.  Found a thread elsewhere on this forum in which others said they solved the problem by deleting the "Family Protection" software that comes with the Verizon security package.  I deleted Family Protection (didn't need or want it anyway) and that worked for me too.  I can finally open the ITunes Store once again.  

Don't know if this applies to your situation but thought I would pass it along as I am so grateful to those who posted.  Good luck!

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-Internet/Cannot-Access-iTunes-Store-How-to-setup-up-VISS-and-Famil...

SH22
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-26-2012

Re: iTunes access

Message 5 of 5
(718 Views)

THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! I have been trying to solve this problem for a month...thought it was an i tunes update...then thought it was a fios/security thing since i just switched over from comcast...NEVER would have figured it was the family protection. ONE MORE TIME THANK YOUUUUUUUUUUUUU! Smiley Happy

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title