×

Switch Account

only getting 10Mbps from ONT via ethernet

only getting 10Mbps from ONT via ethernet

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor ArCan
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-04-2011
Message 1 of 9
(6,220 Views)

Hi!

Good link for test your internet connection:

http://netspeed1.stanford.edu:7123/

 

But I have message:

The slowest link in the end-to-end path is a 10 Mbps Ethernet subnet

 

LED in ONT opposite Ethernet socket is GREEN (100 FullDuplex)

 

My different routers with OEM, Tomato and DD-WRT are 100 FullDuplex WAN

with different PCs, LapTops,

with different OS Windows and Linux

show same result: The slowest link in the end-to-end path is a 10 Mbps Ethernet subnet

 

I can change and did everything

in protocols, interfaces, speed ports etc.

even connected back forgotten Verizon Actiontec router, reset ONT etc. etc. etc.

but

with same result - 10 Mbps Ethernet subnet Smiley Mad

 

Could somebody explain to me

why with my 15/5 plan of FIOS

I see this message: The slowest link in the end-to-end path is a 10 Mbps Ethernet subnet

???

 

Thank you very much!

See you in Net.

 

 

8 REPLIES 8
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎10-09-2008
Message 2 of 9
(6,081 Views)

You have not supplied enough information for anything except a 'guess'. 

 

My first guess is that it is reporting a half/full duplex mismatch.   Your NIC could be set to half duplex, and your router could be set to full duplex., or vise versa.

 

check it out

cjacobs001
Highlighted
Copper Contributor ArCan
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-04-2011
Message 3 of 9
(6,069 Views)

Thank you for quick reply.

 

OK again

all my interfaces are 100 FullDuplex

 

even if use CAT6 direct from PC to ONT

(you know this procedure - clone your Actiontec's MAC to change NIC's MAC in your PC, release IP, connect PC direct...

now the chain 

ISP-ONT-PC without ANY routers, modems, wi-fi  and others...)

 

Very simple path ISP-optic-ONT-ethernet-myPC ! 

(no Actiontec or others at all)

 

and still same message in "Statistic" from http://netspeed1.stanford.edu:7123/

 

10 Mbps Ethernet link found.

Link set to Full Duplex mode

No network congestion discovered.

Good network cable(s) found/

Normal duplex operation found.

 

Why 10 Mbps only?


I'm sure from ONT to my computers and inside only 100 Mbps fullduplex!

In ONT too (LED is GREEN)

 

 

I think the reason somewhere in ISP's equipment !!!

 

My English isn't fluent, and I didn't call to Verizon Smiley Sad

I don't have friends who has Verizon FIOS 15/5 plan Smiley Sad

 

I'm trying to find the answer here. Smiley Wink

 

Thank you.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 4 of 9
(6,056 Views)

I do not have any answer as to why you see the 10 Mbps link, but I can tell you that my experience with that test over my FiOS copnnection (at a different site, http://jlab4.jlab.org:7123/) was that when I had 15/5 service it always showed a 10 Mbps link, even though there was nothing set to 10 Mbps in my setup, and I would typically get very close to 15/5 on all speed tests. I now have 25/15 service and had never run that test on it so I did using your link, and it now shows a 100 Mbps link. I have no explanation for what I formerly saw, and what you are now seeing, but is it really an issue?

 

What if you run one of the more typical internet speed tests, like Verizon's own or Speedtest.net, do you get near the 15/5 speed you expect? If so, I would not worry about what you are seeing, what I think should be important is the speed you actually get. For me, now with 25/15 service, I typically get 30/24. Smiley Very Happy

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, Internet, and phone user
QIP7232, IMG 1.8, Build 02.54
Keller, TX 76248

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,391
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 5 of 9
(6,048 Views)

Looks like it is nothing more than a bug in the NDT test that is showing the wrong type of connection. There could be other things underlying that are triggering the error, but without the full results of the test it's hard to say what it might be. But as long as your ONT is showing the correct link speed between your ONT and whatever device you have it connected to (100Mbps or 1Gbps, depending on ONT and router) and you are receiving your promised speed consistently, I wouldn't worry about it. My Web server which is connected to Gigabit receives a message saying something is a 100Mbps Subnet despite receiving speeds well past 300Mbps, so I've grown to ignore that diagnosis. It's the command line version of the NDT testing applet since I don't run a GUI on a server (why would I?), but it's the same thing under the hood.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor ArCan
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-04-2011
Message 6 of 9
(6,040 Views)

Yes!

The two last answers very helpful.

 

Many thanks to all for help.

 

I really received the answer. 

Thanks and good luck!

 

P.S. Sorry  Smith6612 - I would like but can't to press "like solution" twice

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor ArCan
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-04-2011
Message 7 of 9
(6,000 Views)

Hi!

Sorry... bad news...  Smiley Sad

 

Yesterday I did upgrade from 15/5 to 25/25

it cost me +$10/mo and + 10Mbps for uplink traffic ONLY !

 

Hmm... now I have 15/15 plan, but I don't need it at all.

 

Connected to: netspeed1.stanford.edu -- Using IPv4 address

Checking for Middleboxes .......................................... Done

checking for firewalls ................................................. Done

running 10s outbound test (client-to-server [C2S] ............ 15.24Mb/s

running 10s inbound test (server-to-client [S2C]) ............. 13.21Mb/s

The slowest link in the end-to-end path is a 45 Mbps T3/DS3 subnet

information: Other network traffic is congesting the link

Information [S2c]: Packet queuing detected

 

Always same results 

"Other network traffic is congesting the link"

and less around 16Mb/s

 

Very disappointed

and will return back to 15/5 plan.

 

P.S. But "10Mbps Ethernet" gone. Smiley Indifferent

 

 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,391
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 8 of 9
(5,989 Views)

You may want to try rebooting your ONT (Disconnect AC adapter, then battery, reconnect in reverse order) and making sure your PC is optimized if it's running Windows XP. Other than that, make sure you don't by any chance have QoS enabled in your router or have Parental Controls enabled in the router (this does slow down the connection). Otherwise, give Verizon a call and ask them to fix your provisioning. Nothing more to it 🙂

Highlighted
Copper Contributor ArCan
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-04-2011
Message 9 of 9
(5,974 Views)

Yes!

 

I have 25/25 now.

Oh... I hope I'm finished with this. Smiley Wink

 

Upgrade - FAST AND EASY on-line via web-site.

Downgrade - ONLY BY PHONE with difficulties!

brrr....Smiley Mad


OK. My story:

At the first I called to Verizon to downgrade back 15/5

They give advise to call technician department before.

Technician tell me that they will reset and change line.

And little by little not same time during couple of hour 

the speed go up to 22/22 

(my Ip was change three-four times in this interval

I think they connected and disconnected my line)

 

After that I connect my laptop with CAT6 directly to router

(other than Actiontec and with Tomato, QoS and WMM are disabled)

 

THE SPEED 25/25 (via Ethernet)!

 

End of story.

 

Verizon relax - I will stay with 25/25. Smiley Happy

 

P.S.. After trying other router with A band (5GHz)speed via WiFi a little bit higher...

And now I'm think about  Asus RT-N56U...

But it already my problem... 

 

Thanks everybody for patince and help!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.