×

Switch Account

page display

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor landzlidez1590
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-26-2013
Message 1 of 11
(697 Views)

If a message that "Page cannot be displayed" pops up all of the sudden, when I never had a problem with this site....what do I change/fix and where?

10 REPLIES 10
Highlighted
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 631
Registered: ‎12-17-2009
Message 2 of 11
(668 Views)

Try clearing all internet web browsing history. IF it only happens on this site and you are using a favorite or shortcut delete and create a new one. Depending on you browser do a reset (note you will lose all custom settings) For Internet explorer - internet options - advanced.

Also make sure you have applied all updates to your Operating System.

Last resort install a differnet browswer such a s palemoon, but keep in mind I believe this site is optimized for Internet explorer

If a forum member gives an answer you like, please give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem. Thanks !!!
http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Verizon-net-Email/Fix-for-Missing-Inbox-sent-folders-etc-with-Internet-Explorer-11/m-p/647399
Highlighted
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009
Message 3 of 11
(624 Views)

FWIW, I'm having the same problem the OP described.

 

I have already taken all the steps outlined by JOSEm441.  Here's what I get when I try to open a shortcut to this forum:

 

PageNoDisplay.jpg

 

This is the link specified in the shortcut:

 

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-Internet/bd-p/FiOS_Internet

 

If I refresh the page after getting the error message it opens normally.

 

If I paste the URL into IE or Firefox it opens the first time with no problem.

 

I have this same issue with one or two other shortcuts, also to forums.  Other shortcuts to websites that are not forums open properly the first time.

 

I think this is a Microsoft / IE problem but I haven't had any luck finding a solution on relavent forums there.  For now, I just live with clicking refresh after using the shortcut to start the process of getting to the forum.  I figured I'd pass my experience along so the OP can know he's not the only one with the issue, and in case someone else comes along with a solution

.

Windows 7 (x64) SP1
IE 10 and Firefox 24.0

Microsoft Security Essentials

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,070
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Message 4 of 11
(612 Views)

@JOSEm441 wrote:

Try clearing all internet web browsing history. IF it only happens on this site and you are using a favorite or shortcut delete and create a new one. Depending on you browser do a reset (note you will lose all custom settings) For Internet explorer - internet options - advanced.

Also make sure you have applied all updates to your Operating System.

Last resort install a differnet browswer such a s palemoon, but keep in mind I believe this site is optimized for Internet explorer


This issue has nothing to do with these solutions.  The Verizon forums web sites (hosted by Lithium) periodicnally have issues like this.  Currently, the content when opening a new page on the forum more often then not is slow to display. Usually the red Verizon banner displays but the rest of the content is delayed -- I just encountered a 39 seconds delay.  I reported it to a Verizon contact last week and they acknowledged the issue.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009
Message 5 of 11
(601 Views)

PJL....


 

I think you're referring to another problem.  There are times when the Verizon website will be a little slow loading and getting past"finding your information" takes a while,  but that's not the same as the "Page cannot be displayed" message the OP and I are seeing. 

 

If I don't manually refresh after getting the Page connect be displayed error the page never loads.  And, once again, I only have the problem when using a shortcut, never it I manually paste the URL into a browser.

 

It's conceivable that there's something in the format of the Verizon pages that causes this problem but I sure don't think we've pinned that down.


 


 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,070
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Message 6 of 11
(590 Views)

@eljefe wrote:

PJL....


 

I think you're referring to another problem. ...


 


 


Perhaps.  The issue I described is gone for now -- the pages are displaying very quickly -- but the issue comes and goes.

 

To to those experienceing the specific shortcut problem, I did a Bing Internet search for "web shortcut does not work" and got some interesting information.  You might try looking.

 
Highlighted
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009
Message 7 of 11
(577 Views)

 

But the issue the OP and I have is not gone.  I still have to refresh when starting this forum from a shortcut.   Smiley Wink

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,070
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Message 8 of 11
(547 Views)

@eljefe wrote:

 

But the issue the OP and I have is not gone.  I still have to refresh when starting this forum from a shortcut.   Smiley Wink


Did you look at the link I provided?  It might help.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009
Message 9 of 11
(541 Views)

@PJL wrote:

@eljefe wrote:

 

But the issue the OP and I have is not gone.  I still have to refresh when starting this forum from a shortcut.   Smiley Wink


Did you look at the link I provided?  It might help.


Yes, but I had done similar searches previously and read through many threads on numerous forums.  I didn't find any suggestion that helped here.

 

edit:  By the way, the large majority of links found by searching for the problem with Bing or Google are old...some dating back to 2005.  Many of them are concerning IE 7 or 8.  The problem I'm having started fairly recently and I didn't find any discussions that were from this year.


 

I'm still looking.


 


 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,070
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Message 10 of 11
(533 Views)

@eljefe wrote:

@PJL wrote:

@eljefe wrote:

 

But the issue the OP and I have is not gone.  I still have to refresh when starting this forum from a shortcut.   Smiley Wink


Did you look at the link I provided?  It might help.


Yes, but I had done similar searches previously and read through many threads on numerous forums.  I didn't find any suggestion that helped here.

 

edit:  By the way, the large majority of links found by searching for the problem with Bing or Google are old...some dating back to 2005.  Many of them are concerning IE 7 or 8.  The problem I'm having started fairly recently and I didn't find any discussions that were from this year.


 

I'm still looking.


 


 


What browser version/operating system are you using?  I want to pose this question to a Microsoft contact I have. 
Also, hot was the shortcut created, e.g.drag and drop to the desktop, add to the favorites bar, add to the favorites folders, etc.?

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.