Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

"No media server found" EVER! What can I do?

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-11-2013

"No media server found" EVER! What can I do?

Message 1 of 5
(2,867 Views)

I have an Actiontec MI424WR fios wireless router and here is my issue.

 

Windows 7 pc plugged into the router.

Seagate 3TB GoFlex Network attached storage (NAS) plugged into the router.

Xbox 360 connected wirelessly to router.

PS3 connected wirelessly to router. 

 

My issue is that my ps3 and xbox 360 cannot find any media server from either the pc or the NAS.

 

I have tried WIndows Media player, Media center, Plex, PS3server, etc....no media server is ever found.

 

Originally I thought it might be the firewall on my pc, so I completely uninstalled my anti-virus (temporarily) as well as windows firewall....but it still did not work. 

 

The NAS has a public folder that shares with the network by default, but I can't find that either on my ps3/xbox. 

The NAS is visible on my pc, but that is just an easy "map network drive"

 

So this makes me think the issue is with the router. 

 

What can I do so that I can resolve this issue?  I would really like to watch my saved media on my ps3/xbox.

 

Any help would be nice, b/c I am completely stumped. 

 

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: "No media server found" EVER! What can I do?

Message 3 of 5
(2,795 Views)

Per chance are some of your devices wired and some wireless.  IF so a break in the connect between these device could be helped by making sure you disable IGMP proxy.

 

On some of the newer Actiontec routers this page may be hidden in which you can try the jump

http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active%5fpage=6059 after logging on to your router.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,153
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: "No media server found" EVER! What can I do?

Message 2 of 5
(2,818 Views)

Not my speciality however I watched this video and it sound simple

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=smTViGsjdB4

I'm wondering if it's something to do with upnp,  did you enable that on the serving devices?

 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: "No media server found" EVER! What can I do?

Message 3 of 5
(2,796 Views)

Per chance are some of your devices wired and some wireless.  IF so a break in the connect between these device could be helped by making sure you disable IGMP proxy.

 

On some of the newer Actiontec routers this page may be hidden in which you can try the jump

http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active%5fpage=6059 after logging on to your router.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,153
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: "No media server found" EVER! What can I do?

Message 4 of 5
(2,781 Views)

You may want to read this thread as it refers to xbox and ps3 issues that you are having

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-Internet/No-UPnP-setting-in-MI424WR-Router/td-p/513501/page/2

It also tells you how to get the the upnp enabling page if you have the newer version actiontec router firmare where it's apparently been removed for ipv4.

 

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-11-2013

Re: "No media server found" EVER! What can I do?

Message 5 of 5
(2,665 Views)

Thank you so much!  I've been really busy so I have been unable to check my post until just now.

 

But anyway, I just tried what you recommended - diable the IGMP proxy - and it WORKED!!!

 

So far I've only tried my PS3, but i'm going to try my Xbox360 next when I get upstairs to it. 

 

I was finally able to see both my GoFlex Nas and my Media Player server when I turned on my PS3.

 

This has been bothering me for sooo long, Thank you!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.