×

Switch Account

want to use my own wifi router

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎11-19-2013

want to use my own wifi router

Message 1 of 34
(46,717 Views)

What would i need to do to make the current verizon wifi router as dumb as possible? I want to use my own router as I already have everything configured on it the way I want. I just want the verizon router to give me an internet connection and not do anything else at all. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎10-01-2013

Re: want to use my own wifi router

Message 12 of 34
(13,713 Views)

If you really wanted to you could run an ethernet cable from the ONT (white box where the COAX is plugged in) to your wifi router, thus bypassing the Verizon router completely. You would just need to call technical support and ask them to switch the data port from coax to ethernet. Typically they can do this remotely without send a tech out, it would just be up to you to install the ethernet cable. Just a thought, otherwise you can do the bridge setup.

View solution in original post

33 REPLIES 33
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,778
Registered: ‎05-14-2009

Re: want to use my own wifi router

Message 2 of 34
(46,713 Views)

Have you tried performing a search on these forums?  There have been plenty of previous posters that have asked the same question and recieved successful answers.

 

Jim

 

Highlighted
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 631
Registered: ‎12-17-2009

Re: want to use my own wifi router

Message 3 of 34
(46,712 Views)

Merk, This  link explains the procedure very well. http://www.dbuggr.com/smallwei/verizon-fios-actiontec-router-mi424-wr-bridge/ Please let us know the results, I too am interested in doing this soon

If a forum member gives an answer you like, please give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem. Thanks !!!
http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Verizon-net-Email/Fix-for-Missing-Inbox-sent-folders-etc-with-Internet-Explorer-11/m-p/647399
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎11-19-2013

Re: want to use my own wifi router

Message 4 of 34
(46,710 Views)

Thanks, I'll try this when I get home later today and let you know if it works.

 

 

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎10-01-2013

Re: want to use my own wifi router

Message 5 of 34
(46,699 Views)
You could go through the steps to make it a bridge, or you could just setup your router in lan with ours. much easier.
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎11-19-2013

Re: want to use my own wifi router

Message 6 of 34
(46,689 Views)

what's the difference between making it a bridge or setting it up in LAN with the verizon router? Would i just be using the verizon router for DHCP and my router for everything else?

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎10-01-2013

Re: want to use my own wifi router

Message 7 of 34
(46,651 Views)

Yes. The only problem I can see with using the verizon router rather than bridging is if you have certain port forwarding settings that you need to use for certian applications. You could always log into the verizon router and configure those if need be. If you are just looking for a simple setup just plug your router in lan with the verizon router and it should work just fine. If you have problems with wifi interference then you may want to disable the wifi on the verizon router. 

 

 

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎11-19-2013

Re: want to use my own wifi router

Message 8 of 34
(46,626 Views)

I think i'll go with bridge mode since I do have port forwarding and a few other things set up on the router.  Easier for me to just disable everything on the verizon router then having to copy over all my rules.

 

Thanks

Highlighted
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: want to use my own wifi router

Message 9 of 34
(46,589 Views)

Do you have FIOS-TV?  You didn't say. 

If you have FIOS-TV, you need to keep the Actiontec in the mix to provide guide data and VOD for your STBs.

 

How is you Actiontec connected to the ONT?  coax ot cat5?  Again, you didn;t say.

 

There are a number of possible different configuration for running your own router with or without the Actiontec.

What are the tradeoffs between the various router configurations

 

The link that JOSEM441 provided is only a single bridge and will only work for internet.  It will not work FIOS-TV.

 

 

 

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,153
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: want to use my own wifi router

Message 10 of 34
(46,558 Views)

@merk wrote:

What would i need to do to make the current verizon wifi router as dumb as possible? I want to use my own router as I already have everything configured on it the way I want. I just want the verizon router to give me an internet connection and not do anything else at all. 


 

Go into firewall settings on the Verizon router and select dmz host to expose 1 internal IP address to the outside.

Configure your router's wan connection to be that IP address

Configure your router to be a different subnet other than 192.168.1

connect a lan port of the verizon router to the wan port of your router

done.

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.