wireless connection questions
avemaria92
Contributor - Level 1

hello,

I just got a wireless adapter for the first time.. i changed my wep key from the default 64 bit on the sticker on the router to the 128 bit, 26 character code i made up.  But I was wondering how to get a wpa key?  do i make it up on my own, and if so how long is it?  is there info on this anywhere?

I have the Verizon MI424WR wireless router.  

In the advanced security settings it asks for a "pre-shared key" for wpa.. but i don't know what this is.  Do i just make up a number with 10, 20, or 64 characters like the wpa generator site does?  I can provide more info if needed.  I'm new to this.

Also do we have to enter the key every time we connect to the internet?

Thank you for your time.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: wireless connection questions
Justin46
Legend

The "D" refers to the hardware revision of the Actiontec router. D is the latest available as far as I know. You can check which level you have by logging into the router and clicking on the System Monitoring icon. The resultant display will show the Hardware Version on the 3rd line.

If you click on Wireless Settings, the default is for WEP. But if you click on Advanced Security Settings you should find you can choose between WEP, WPA, and WPA2. If you click on the WPA (or WPA2) button, you will see a screen where you can specify the

a) authentication method (Pre-shared key is what you want, all that means is that you specify on each device, router and each wireless device, the same key)