AMC HD is Low Quality

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-27-2010

AMC HD is Low Quality

Message 1 of 37
(8,419 Views)

Is there anyway to get a better quality feed of AMC HD.  As of now I am currently getting about 9Mbps max which causes alot of blocking on the screen.  The fact is 9Mbps is simply not enough for 1080i HD

 

I only bring this up because other providers across the country are currently getting an upgrade for AMC HD from their 9Mbps to close to 14 Mbps.

 

One example is Comcast in Michigan which has just recently made the change over and their picture quality from screenshots is much better then Fios's

 

This is from Michigan's Comcast broadcast for Breaking Bad Season 3 episode 1:

 

Sequence Summary:
File Size Processed: 4.90 GB, Play Time: 00h:48m:50s
1920 x 1080, 29.97 fps, 20.00 Mbps (13.56 Mbps Average).
AC3 Audio: 3/2 Channels (L, C, R, SL, SR) + LFE, 48.0 kHz, 384 kbps.

 

This is from Fios's broadcast in NYC:

 

File Size Processed: 3.01 GB, Play Time: 00h:48m:35s
1920 x 1080, 29.97 fps , 18.00 Mbps (8.18 Mbps Average).
AC3 Audio: 3/2 Channels (L, C, R, SL, SR) + LFE, 48.0 kHz, 384 kbps.

36 REPLIES 36
Highlighted
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 497
Registered: ‎05-21-2009

Re: AMC HD is Low Quality

Message 2 of 37
(8,362 Views)

if other providers are getting better stuff from the channel, I am sure that Verizon will too....

 

as far as when... who knows.... will we ever be notified if/when it actually happens... who knows

 

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bob Robertson - Lighter Klepto - I steal lighters, not bandwith
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-22-2010

Re: AMC HD is Low Quality

Message 3 of 37
(8,283 Views)

The AMC HD movie quality is quite poor.  They also appear to use a 'fill screen algorithm' similar to the 'Full' or 'Just' modes on a large-screen HDTV, which distorts the picture.  I was watching a few minutes of Jeremiah Johnson tonight and, when they do a panning shot of the mountain range, you can easily see the distortion toward the edges of the TV.  I don't know who they think thinks that that looks OK.  Maybe they don't care...

Highlighted
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎08-06-2009

Re: AMC HD is Low Quality

Message 4 of 37
(8,239 Views)

@wvjbl2 wrote:

The AMC HD movie quality is quite poor.  They also appear to use a 'fill screen algorithm' similar to the 'Full' or 'Just' modes on a large-screen HDTV, which distorts the picture.  I was watching a few minutes of Jeremiah Johnson tonight and, when they do a panning shot of the mountain range, you can easily see the distortion toward the edges of the TV.  I don't know who they think thinks that that looks OK.  Maybe they don't care...


IFC-HD does the same thing.  Unwatchable.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-21-2009

Re: AMC HD is Low Quality

Message 5 of 37
(4,581 Views)
I just got fios and noticed how bad this channel was yikes. Why even have it hd? Bad solarization.
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎07-04-2010

Re: AMC HD is Low Quality

Message 6 of 37
(4,561 Views)

This is how Rainbow Media is providing Verizon with the channels - there is nothing VZ can do.

 

4 channels into one 38.8 MB pipe - so the average 9-10MB feed you are seeing would make sense.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 574
Registered: ‎05-11-2009

Re: AMC HD is Low Quality

Message 7 of 37
(4,518 Views)

We have AMC HD because it's apparently the greatest channel ever. Check out this thread from a couple years ago when people were begging for the channel- http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-TV-Programming/AMC-HD-and-other-Rainbow-Channels/m-p/17196/highlig...

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: AMC HD is Low Quality

Message 8 of 37
(4,414 Views)

Caps09

The point is if you are going to cram 4 channels in a QAM then you might as well not even provide the channel in HD. 4 in one QAM is not HD in my book. If pixles and digital artifacts are soooo bad! The quility has been trashed by the provider.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-03-2011

Re: AMC HD is Low Quality

Message 9 of 37
(4,293 Views)
Watching the killing. Now and the pq is horrible blocking blooming solarization this is unacceptable Verizon please fix this Asap!!!
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: AMC HD is Low Quality

Message 10 of 37
(4,256 Views)

 


@emorency wrote:
Watching the killing. Now and the pq is horrible blocking blooming solarization this is unacceptable Verizon please fix this Asap!!!

If the provider (Rainbow Media) is over compressing (as indicated earlier in this thread) by putting 4 HD channels on a single QAM then there is nothing Verizon can do about it.  Once over compressed, it can't be restored to a "higher" quality.

 

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.