×

Switch Account

CBS (Channel 509) on Guide is Missing

CBS (Channel 509) on Guide is Missing

Reply
Copper Contributor Johngalt338
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-05-2013
Message 1 of 8
(1,100 Views)

I realize that Verizon and CBS had contracting issues at the end of 2018 - but CBS is now back on TV but you can't find channels on the guide.  Was Verizon so ticked off by the contract dispute that they chose to eliminate CBS from the guide???  Makes programming impossible.  FIX IT NOW!

7 REPLIES 7
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,208
Registered: ‎06-24-2018
Message 2 of 8
(1,089 Views)

Can you tune to 509 if you type it on the remote? Have you tried rebooting the box?

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,705
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 3 of 8
(1,031 Views)

I get WUSA (for me it is channel 519).
Has been working fine.
As other suggested, try power reset of box.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Copper Contributor Johngalt338
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-05-2013
Message 4 of 8
(1,016 Views)

I can manually tune to the channel but even after several setbox resets it will not show 509 on the guide -- which means you can't program anything from CBS. 

 

I am in Fairfax County, VA if it matters -- which it might to other Fairfax County residents - but not so sure that Verizon gives a crap.

Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,208
Registered: ‎06-24-2018
Message 5 of 8
(1,003 Views)

Is your guide set to “All Channels”? Can you search for a CBS show? Try going to the Guide and hitting the blue B button and search for a CBS show and see if you can record it the way. Not a permanent fix but worth trying. 

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,705
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 6 of 8
(945 Views)

So when you tune manually and then hit guide, what does it show?

Have you tried the fix FiOS issues under support?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Copper Contributor Johngalt338
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-05-2013
Message 7 of 8
(886 Views)

CBS is finally back on my guide.  Perhaps Fios finally relented and decided to put the station back in the mix or maybe it was just my TV that was effected.  I do not know.  I do know that Fios never did anything to contact me to figure out the problem and left me floundering. 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor rockvilleraven
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-05-2013
Message 8 of 8
(739 Views)

And now I hear that FIOS wants you to keep a TV without being hooked up to the service just in case it happens again.     I did buy a $15 antenna which I will hook up to the living room set if a disupte happens in the future.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.