×

Switch Account

FiOS 1 News

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-26-2013
Message 1 of 17
(12,140 Views)

New York City is the most populous city in the United States with over 8.3 million people.

Why don't we have Fios 1 News for NYC?

Why do I want to watch Long Island news, which does not pertain to me?

Cablevision has a different News 12 channel for each region.

Now with the rollout of the FiOS mobile app, the only news thats available is for Long Island.

It just doesn't make sense

16 REPLIES 16
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎10-29-2011
Message 2 of 17
(12,075 Views)

Crazy unfair, right? But they were great during the hurricane. Best you can do re NYC is NY1.com (a Time Warner company) on line. And watch CUNY on channel 30. (P.S.  Cablevision won't let non-subscribers view News 12 or anything they own on line.)

Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-22-2011
Message 3 of 17
(12,030 Views)
I agree with bklyn35. I live in Queens Village & I am literally 3 minutes from Elmont, Long Island and I don't have Fios 1 at all. With the constant increase in fees we should at least be able to have local TV. As for NY1.com I believe you have to be a cable customer to access it.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎08-10-2013
Message 4 of 17
(11,975 Views)

Hi, my uncle lives in brooklyn, East New York, zip 11208, and he gets FIOS 1 News.... I live in Ozone Park, Queens I dont get it..... Why cant we have NY1 ? Since Verizon has deal with TWC to offer Verizon Wireless with TWC, why cant they work out a deal to offer NY1.... WE NEED A 24HOUR NEWSCHANNEL FOR NYC!!!!

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎10-29-2011
Message 5 of 17
(11,968 Views)

I get FIOS1, too, in Brooklyn. The OP's complaint is they mostly cover LI news. (I think it's because they're headquartered on Long Island. And geographically, Brooklyn is part of Long Island. I wish wish wish we could get NY1 too but that's owned by Time Warner, a competing cable company, so that'll never happen. Same thing with News 12, owned by cablevision. What Verizon could do if they feel like investing money & giving more people jobs is open up bureaus in Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, the Bronx, Staten Island. Expect everyone's bills to soar if they ever do that. (Verizon Wireless is a different entity from FIOS.)

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-13-2014
Message 6 of 17
(11,559 Views)

Really.  What a bunch of crap.  I live in New York City, nowhere near Long Island and have to watch that useless garbage.  I see TV ads for a Fios1 Hudson Valley edition which covers Yonkers and up, apparently.  I live a little more than a half hour walk from Yonkers.  That would be more meaningful than Long Island.  Even New Jersey would be a hour walk (to get to the other side, not just half way across the Hudson River), if I could walk on water, or less than 10 minutes by car over the George Washibgton Bridge.  If they stick us with this Long Island crap, why don't they rebrand it for the entire region.  And, why can't they pay Time Warner to carry NY1, because it was available when I had Cablevision.  Regarding the post stating that our bills would soar if they gave us our own Fios1, like Cablevision does with their local News12, if that's the case, I assume that my bill has already soared paying for them to operate Fios1 Long Island for the benefit of the Hamptons and Montauk elite.  Dismantle it and deflate my bill.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 273
Registered: ‎11-03-2013
Message 7 of 17
(11,548 Views)

@anything wrote:

Really.  What a bunch of crap.  I live in New York City, nowhere near Long Island and have to watch that useless garbage. 


Actually you don't HAVE to watch it. There is an option called don't watch it.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012
Message 8 of 17
(11,529 Views)

Most major networks are already to much NY biased in their news.  Really no need for a FIOS 1 for NYC.  On the other hand FIOS 1 LI covers things the majors don't although not as well as some of the competitor cable's Local news channels.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-21-2014
Message 9 of 17
(11,353 Views)
Why don't we have Fios 1 News for NYC?

i dont even have fios news 1 in my pack for verizon 

i would love to have 


@bklyn35 wrote:

New York City is the most populous city in the United States with over 8.3 million people.

Why don't we have Fios 1 News for NYC?

Why do I want to watch Long Island news, which does not pertain to me?

Cablevision has a different News 12 channel for each region.

Now with the rollout of the FiOS mobile app, the only news thats available is for Long Island.

It just doesn't make sense



Fios 1 News for NYC

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,791
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 10 of 17
(11,324 Views)

Why do I have the YES channel when I live near Baltimore?

We all have channels that we don't want.

Just don't watch them.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.