Fox HD Stutter

Reply
Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Fox HD Stutter

Message 1 of 10
(11,198 Views)
I have done a search of the forum for similar issues, but only a few DVR 7216 related problems seem to have ocurred. Here's the thing - Fox HD stutters, meaning the video freezes for about two seconds while the audio continues unaffected, then jumps to catch up, and then repeats at random but frequent intervals. This happens on the 7216 DVR and the 6200 STb, both live and recorded, both program content and commercials. No other channel does this. I've even tried changing TV resolutions. A Google search reveals this problem with other providers, even OTA. The Fox non-HD feed is fine. Before I embarrass myself totally with a polite but firmly worded email to Fox Headquarters, is anybody else seeing this problem? Due to the amount of discussion on the Google references, it would seem to be a problem at the Fox end of things. Thanks for any feedback.
9 REPLIES 9
Highlighted
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008

Re: Fox HD Stutter

Message 2 of 10
(11,185 Views)
That seems like the software bug in the 1.6 image all Verizon STBs have. Best way to fix it is unplug it for 20 second and plug it back in. Verizon from what I hear has the issue fixed with the next software roll out 1.6.1, but that update broke peoples audio so they had to postpone it.
Message Edited by TimSykes on 02-12-2009 08:56 AM
Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: Fox HD Stutter

Message 3 of 10
(11,178 Views)
Thanks for the reply. Yes, I have been following the developements surrounding 1.6.1, and am hopeful like the rest for many issues to be resolved. But, it's curious, why only the Fox HD signal and no other channel? I thought it might be some conflict with the Fox Network native resolution but have yet to discover any evidence supporting this assumption. I still believe the problem to be at the Fox end because some report the issue OTA as well. Thank you.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008

Re: Fox HD Stutter

Message 4 of 10
(11,174 Views)
I have noticed it more on fox myself, I have seen it only a few times on other channels. My only thinking with that is that for shows all are in 720p where all other stations run in 1080i. It may have to do with the upscaleing aspects of the box. Again it just a theory but should be fixed with the new update. 
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎08-04-2008

Re: Fox HD Stutter

Message 5 of 10
(11,161 Views)

Retired- Wow - there are more of us out there!

 

Yes, this happens all of the time on Fox HD, A&E HD, and FX HD of what i've been able to notice.

 

The new firmware 1.6.2 will correct this issue - the developers are aware of the situation.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,821
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Fox HD Stutter

Message 6 of 10
(10,975 Views)

@psumatt wrote:

Retired- Wow - there are more of us out there!

 

Yes, this happens all of the time on Fox HD, A&E HD, and FX HD of what i've been able to notice.

 

The new firmware 1.6.2 will correct this issue - the developers are aware of the situation.


 

Is it true the new firmware is 1.6.2 and 1.6.1 was pulled for a new minor build that fixes the audio? I hope the new build fixes audio and comes soon. Without breaking something else. The picture really needs to be fixed in SD. I avoid watching SD because of it. And yes HD does stutter on a few chanels, and yes the audio and video is out of sync at times. I hope the new build fixes everything.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008

Re: Fox HD Stutter

Message 7 of 10
(10,953 Views)
I found a work around for this issue. It does not make it go away, but it reduces the amount of it. I changed the video settings on my STB to 720. I did this because fox broadcast in 720 and not 1080. It seemed to reduce the amount of shutters 10 fold, but I still happened a few times. After I was done watching fox I put it back to 1080. Its not the best solution, but it works until there is a software fix for the issue from Verizon.
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎08-04-2008

Re: Fox HD Stutter

Message 8 of 10
(10,940 Views)

Prisaz- Yes, the firmware will be 1.6.2 - and it does address this stuttering on the channels you and I mentioned. I think it had to do with the box having to upconvert 720p HD channels to 1080i if that's what you had your box set at.

 

It also addresses the audio issues as well.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,821
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Fox HD Stutter

Message 9 of 10
(10,917 Views)

@psumatt wrote:

Prisaz- Yes, the firmware will be 1.6.2 - and it does address this stuttering on the channels you and I mentioned. I think it had to do with the box having to upconvert 720p HD channels to 1080i if that's what you had your box set at.

 

It also addresses the audio issues as well.


Thanks psumatt.

I am running 1080 over HDMI for over a year with the QIP6416-2  to Samsung in fact. I have not had any of the issues with HDMI. I hope the new release does not break it.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: Fox HD Stutter

Message 10 of 10
(10,902 Views)
Thank you for the reply. I like these forums because it's comforting to know that when many have the issue, it's a systemic problem and not unique to one's setup. I did try the resolution output change to 720 to no avail. In fact, the stutter is usually recorded on the 7216 DVR, so it would seem to me that the stutter occurs on the inbound signal to the STB not the outbound to TV. It happens live on the non-DVR STB too.  I have begun to notice it on a few other channels as well. So, it's now a matter of waiting for 1.6.2 to see if the situation is resolved. Thank you.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.