×

Switch Account

Guide

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor missltm
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-16-2010
Message 1 of 12
(4,469 Views)

Has anyone noticed that when you look at the info for a movie or a show, it no longer lists who is in it?

It is getting quite annoying, I like to see who is in the movie/show sometimes to help me decide whether to watch it or not.

11 REPLIES 11
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,953
Registered: ‎05-27-2010
Message 2 of 12
(4,432 Views)

I don't agree ... I looked at the guide for several movies that are on right now and they all have a section labelled "Cast" listing the actors in the major roles of the movie.  I think that information is a function of what the specific TV channel may be feeding the service which generates the guide data which Verizon downloads for the STB's.   If the TV station doesn't provide it, the guide obviously doesn't show it.

 

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor CCandBW
Copper Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-28-2009
Message 3 of 12
(4,396 Views)

I have noticed recently that the cast is no longer listed when you click "Info", but if you click "Info" again, you get the option to select "Full Info" and the cast is usually listed there.  Sometimes it is not listed and that is probably a function of the content received from the supplier.  I am, however, annoyed that the truncated cast is not list on the first "Info" screen, but that I have to click -> move down -> click again to get the Full Info.  It seems to have changed only recently.

Highlighted
Contributor missltm
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-16-2010
Message 4 of 12
(4,382 Views)

Thanks for the hint.  If I click on full info, the cast shows up.  It used to be there when you just clicked on info.  I'm glad it is still there, but it is a little more inconvenient.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 5 of 12
(4,376 Views)

 


@CCandBW wrote:

I have noticed recently that the cast is no longer listed when you click "Info", but if you click "Info" again, you get the option to select "Full Info" and the cast is usually listed there.  Sometimes it is not listed and that is probably a function of the content received from the supplier.  I am, however, annoyed that the truncated cast is not list on the first "Info" screen, but that I have to click -> move down -> click again to get the Full Info.  It seems to have changed only recently.


You don't have to click -> move down -> click again to get the Full Info, just click Info again (the net is, to get every bit of info about the program, starting from scratch, just click the Info button 3 times, that takes you directly to the Full Info screen).

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416-P1, IMG 1.7.1, Build 09.97
Keller, TX 76248

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎12-15-2009
Message 6 of 12
(4,348 Views)

Like Justin said, you just have to press info a few times.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor CCandBW
Copper Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-28-2009
Message 7 of 12
(4,232 Views)

Yes, Justin, you're right (as usual -- I always get great info from your postings).  I figured out the day after I posted that I could click Info three times and get the same info.  Much easier, but still annoying that the truncated cast isn't available on the first Info screen anymore.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 8 of 12
(4,216 Views)

 


@CCandBW wrote:

Yes, Justin, you're right (as usual -- I always get great info from your postings).  I figured out the day after I posted that I could click Info three times and get the same info.  Much easier, but still annoying that the truncated cast isn't available on the first Info screen anymore.


 

Thanks very much for your kind comment, and of course for the feedback, I think all of us that post here appreciate hearing that something does work like we say (or at least we think) it does!

 

I am hopeful that in the not too distant future we will be seing some improvements in the Guide and associated info, to include seeing more program info with fewer clicks. But we will just have to wait and see I guess......

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416-P1, IMG 1.7.1, Build 09.97
Keller, TX 76248

Highlighted
Copper Contributor MikeK
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-23-2009
Message 9 of 12
(4,063 Views)

There are some movie listings that include cast names but most, it seems, do not.  I can't imagine HBO, ShowTime, or Encore all of a sudden not providing cast names with their summaries.  This seems to be just another example of Verizon giving you less for your money -- similar to the elimination of several "duplicate" movie channels because they were showing the same movies.  Duh! Yes, but they were on at different times, which is a big plus to me because if I missed an earlier movie I could catch it later on.  Taking away four channels, which were included in the premium I agreed to pay when I enrolled, and giving me nothing in return is yet another example of getting less for your money.  I got rid of my local cable company for that reason.  Looks like it may be time to switch once again.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009
Message 10 of 12
(4,021 Views)

Actually, after they removed the channels, they are already adding new ones. They have added 2 new HD channels just in the last few weeks. Thats why they removed those duplicate channels, so they could add different channels to the line up it seems.

 

 

And BTW, EVERY company is doing this. Changing companies will not change that fact. If you dont like Verizon service, then change by all means. But if you just dont like the fact that they take channels away, your not going to be happy with any company out there. Its a complete lie if you ever hear anyone say "xxxx has never removed channels from my lineup". They all do.




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.