×

Switch Account

Is HBO GO Available Through the FIOS DVR?

Is HBO GO Available Through the FIOS DVR?

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor MelRaff
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-06-2009
Message 1 of 8
(8,861 Views)

As a FIOS and HBO subscriber, I can access HBO GO from my mobile device or PC, but I'd like to have the ability to stream HBO GO titles through my FIOS DVR.  It would seem logical to find an HBO GO Widget, but there is none.  Am I missing something? Is there another way to launch HBO GO through the DVR?  Or do I have to add another streaming device (i.e., Roku, etc.) to do that?

7 REPLIES 7
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 3,220
Registered: ‎02-24-2011
Message 2 of 8
(8,727 Views)

There is no way to watch HBO Go through set top boxes. You can go into the On Demand menu and go to the HBO section to watch all their HBO content for free.

Anthony_VZ

**If someones post has helped you, please acknowledge their assistance by clicking the red thumbs up button to give them Kudos. If you are the original poster and any response gave you your answer, please mark the post that had the answer as the solution**

Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supersede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or plan

Copper Contributor MelRaff
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-06-2009
Message 3 of 8
(8,683 Views)

That would be acceptable, if it were true--but it's way far from that.  HBO Go provides, for example, all seasons and all episodes of Curb Your Enthusiasm, just to pick one example of many.  But the On Demand menu and then the HBO section makes only about 4 or 5 total episodes available.  It is severely limited in comparison to HBO Go, and a great disappointment.  

 

If I simply plug my laptop into my LAN and my TV, I can watch everything through HBO Go.  But why should I have to do that?  Since Verizon is the one I'm paying directly for this privilege, one might expect Verizon to make the full range of episodes available through their own hardware.  But they simply do not.  This is a real disappointment to me.  And I have no explanation for this failing on Verizon's part.

Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 3,220
Registered: ‎02-24-2011
Message 4 of 8
(8,675 Views)

Thats a great idea! This would be a perfect candidate for the Verizon Idea Exchange. Please search on the idea exchange and cast your vote. There may be another member who made the same suggestion. If not, please add a new idea so your fellow community members can comment and vote on your suggestion. http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Verizon-Idea-Exchange/ct-p/ideaexchange . The Verizon Idea Exchange is there for you to submit your ideas and suggestions to Verizon so that we can consider them as we innovate our products and services.

Anthony_VZ

**If someones post has helped you, please acknowledge their assistance by clicking the red thumbs up button to give them Kudos. If you are the original poster and any response gave you your answer, please mark the post that had the answer as the solution**

Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supersede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or plan

Contributor tiinajo
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-06-2015
Message 5 of 8
(5,009 Views)

Is this still true 2+ years later you can't access HBO GO through the FIOS DVR? 

I just got HBO and I can't start any series from the beginning unless I use HBO GO?  That's lame!

MVP CRobGauth MVP
MVP
Posts: 7,707
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 6 of 8
(5,002 Views)

Yes. I don't know if any provider gives access to HBO GO via their STB.

But most smart tvs as well as devices like Roku, Apple TV, etc provide support for HBO GO.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎08-02-2009
Message 7 of 8
(4,959 Views)

Anthony_VZ, No, "HBO GO" is not available as an option in the On Demand menus. I am not angered by it as much as I would be if it were not for other pay services such as Showtime.Which makes available every episode, in HD, of a ground breaking series such as "Dexter", and a treasure trove of other original programs. I even wonder if I will retain HBO and and EPIX when my next contract is negotiated. I can not be the only cinema devotee who is disgusted with both aforementioned services cropping every movie to a 16:9 aspect ratio.  I am finished with viewing films that have been panned and scanned from a 2.40:1 AR, as the director envisioned, down to a 16:9 AR. This elimination of almost 40% of the visuals in a film shot @ 2.40:1 is an insult to the fans and the people who worked so diligently on the framing of these images.

 

The repetition on HBO is also disturbing. I realize Showtime is guilty as well, but not to the extent that HBO is. If I have not watched a ridiculous film such as "Top Gun" by now, I never will. Yet HBO will continue to show it over and over again, into perpetuity I would assume. I think I can live quite happily w/o both HBO and EPIX, as long as their policies remain the same. Otherwise, I have been a tireless promoter of FiOS since it was installed, one could not ask for better audio or visual quality.

                                                                                                   CBE

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎11-22-2008
Message 8 of 8
(4,921 Views)

Because of the way Fios transmits its on demand programming the concept of HBO Go on the Set top boxes is IMO a possbility

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.