×

Switch Account

Mother in law has start of Dementia - Fios controller too complicated

Mother in law has start of Dementia - Fios controller too complicated

Reply
Contributor dwc_work
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-27-2010
Message 1 of 6
(6,068 Views)

As I stated in the subject, my Mother-in-law has the start of Dementia, and gets very confused with the controller. 

 

All she wants to do is turn on the TV and Box with one button, and scroll up through a few different channels.  All the different buttons are confusing. 

 

ON/OFF

 

Volume [up/down]

 

Channel [up/down]

 

would be all she would need.

 

Is there anything like that out there.   She gets frustrated and says that she doesn't want to watch TV, but we know she only says that because she is embarrassed that she can't work the controls.

 

I have walked in to the room with the TV on a TV channel instead of the Boxes channel, and all I see is static, and her pushing buttons trying to figure out how to fix it (which she never does).

 

It hurts to see her sooo confused and I would like to make it much easier!

 

HELP!!!

5 REPLIES 5
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,325
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 3 of 6
(5,991 Views)

That remote would be great, but if you read the detailed information you will find the following (see THIS PAGE😞

 

Set-up is easy. There are no codes to enter, just press a couple of buttons and the Tek Pal will set itself. In minutes, it will be ready to work with most TVs. (This remote can be used with a cable ready TV, but not with TVs that use a converter box.)

This indicates that the channel up/down buttons will control the TV and not the STB.  An almost solution, but would still cause problems Smiley Sad .

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎10-27-2009
Message 4 of 6
(5,977 Views)

A solution that might be cost prohibitive..

Get a TV with a cablecard slot. Set up the card then you can use simple large remotes like the one shown. She will lose the GUIDE and VOD but might be a decent tradeoff.

Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009
Message 5 of 6
(5,951 Views)

How about something like this?

 

 

 

http://salestores.com/sonyrmez.html

 

 

 




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 372
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 6 of 6
(5,950 Views)

Check out this one. It is dual control tv/cable. Preprogrammed for tv/cable on/off functionality.

 

http://www.flipperremote.com/?gclid=CJ7Dq6Hlx58CFRD7agodinCA0Q



"If your problem has been solved, please mark it as such. Don't forget to hand out your Kudos!"
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.