Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Switch from Calbevision to Fios ???

Reply
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-24-2010

Switch from Calbevision to Fios ???

Message 1 of 8
(5,444 Views)

Im new to the Bronx Area and right now I have cablevision and it sucks. Im thinking about switching to Fios but I dont want to get caught in a two year contract and then I dont like it. Ive used Brighthouse from florida and time warner as well and both were great. Great Guides and DVR options. Cablevisions menus are horrible, I cant seem to figure out how the recorded shows are listed. Theres no specific order to it. I cant search for future shows for later in the week.

 

Can anyone let me know how Fios is and how the guide and the DVR are.

7 REPLIES 7
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Switch from Calbevision to Fios ???

Message 2 of 8
(5,438 Views)

 


@Cmedina725 wrote:

 

Can anyone let me know how Fios is and how the guide and the DVR are.


 

 

FiOS IMHO is great from a PQ standpoint and number of HD offerings.  [EDIT:] Keep in mind since you are in a CV area you will not get MSNBC or MSG HD - if those are important to you [END EDIT].

 

The guide is an issue.  They use a company called "FYI" and there are multiple threads about the errors and shortfalls (search is your friend).  Shows are not always correctly labeled as NEW, sporting events are not labeled as LIVE or repeat, and just plain outright errors.

 

The DVR is OK.  It is only as good as the guide data since generally recordings are guide based (see above comments).  The other shortfall is the storage.  Current DVR only has 160 G drive which will only hold up to 20 hours of HD (depending on source bit rate).  At present there is no way to expand the drive size externally (been rumored to be coming for a year now - take with many grains of salt).

 

Hope that answers your questions and remember YMMV.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎12-15-2009

Re: Switch from Calbevision to Fios ???

Message 3 of 8
(5,409 Views)

Keyboards - MSNBC and MSNBC HD have been available in CV areas for well over a month now.

Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Switch from Calbevision to Fios ???

Message 4 of 8
(5,379 Views)

 


@ekem015 wrote:

Keyboards - MSNBC and MSNBC HD have been available in CV areas for well over a month now.


 

Sorry - I thought they were only on for the Winter Olympics.  I stand corrected.

 

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-03-2009

Re: Switch from Calbevision to Fios ???

Message 5 of 8
(5,327 Views)

having been a former Cablevision customer I could never go back.  Some of the shortcomings described are livable.  The pros to Fios are as follows (my opinion of course):

 

1.  The Internet Speed is blazing fast

2.  The Speed of Changing channels is much faster on FIOS.

3.  The Speed of bringing up the channel guide is much faster on FIOS

4.  Watching an On-Demand Show works 100% of the time and starts within seconds of beginning.  Cablevision takes about 30-45 seconds for an On-Demand show to start and fails many times.

5.  The HD picture quality if far superior.  I never get pixelization.  My neighbors complain all the time to me about the quality of the Cablevision picture.

 

The pros make the TV viewing pleasure much more enjoyable over Cablevision.  

Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-22-2008

Re: Switch from Calbevision to Fios ???

Message 6 of 8
(5,030 Views)

I am a former Cablevision customer who switched two years ago to Verizon. While I like FIOS better for faster internet and more channels, one thing Cablevision did better was programming.  If you had a hockey game on at 7 and one at 9 and you wanted to record all the first and switch at 930 to the second, you could program the box to do so. You can't on FIOS. It only accepts the "block", Cablevision let you adjust the time.

I don't have a big screen or HDTV so I won't comment on those. But friends who have tried both prefer FIOS

Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Switch from Calbevision to Fios ???

Message 7 of 8
(4,970 Views)

 


@boboli wrote:

...  one thing Cablevision did better was programming.  If you had a hockey game on at 7 and one at 9 and you wanted to record all the first and switch at 930 to the second, you could program the box to do so. You can't on FIOS. It only accepts the "block", Cablevision let you adjust the time.


Actually, you can do that but it is a bit clumsy.
  1. Set the first game to record
  2. Modify the end time to end 30 minutes late
  3. Create a manual recording (like in the old VCR days - channel, start and end times).
Like I said, clumsy but doable.

 

 

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎01-26-2010

Re: Switch from Calbevision to Fios ???

Message 8 of 8
(4,720 Views)

If you want to check it out in person, there is a Verizon store at 2721 (pretty sure of the #) Bronxwood Ave in Bronx, NY.  You can go see the guide in person and talk to someone about it.   They will also be able to help you with your questions.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.